trackpad button

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by Ja Di ksw, Sep 29, 2004.

  1. Ja Di ksw macrumors 65816

    Ja Di ksw

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2003
    #1
    Hi all. my powerbook is having a problem with its trackpad button. Sometimes it just does not work. I will be over a link, an icon, a close window button, whatever, and when I click, nothing will happen. If I move the cursor off of it and to another link, and then go back, it will work. I don't think it's a hardware issue as simply moving to a different button to click fixes it every time, but any ideas as to why this is happening, or how to fix it?
    Thanks
     
  2. runplaysleeprun macrumors 6502a

    runplaysleeprun

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #2
    there may be windows popping up that you are unaware of, and the screen you are trying to click is moved to the background, but still visible. then- the first time you click, you are just bringing that screen back up to the front, and the second time, actually clicking on the link. does it happen when you are visiting sites with pop-ups or frames? does it happend in specific programs, or is it a system wide thing?
     
  3. Ja Di ksw thread starter macrumors 65816

    Ja Di ksw

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2003
    #3
    It is system wide. I can also click as many times as I want, and nothing happens. Only when I click somewhere else will the problem go away
     
  4. munkle macrumors 68030

    munkle

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Location:
    On a jet plane
    #4
    Like you said it's not likely to be a hardware problem, it is most probably a software conflict of some sort. Have you downloaded any software/freeware/shareware recently?

    Do you have ONYX installed on your computer? Just that it gave me problems where a small area of my screen would occasionally just become inactive.
     
  5. Ja Di ksw thread starter macrumors 65816

    Ja Di ksw

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2003
    #5
    I do have ONYX, though I haven't used it for awhile. I haven't installed any new software for awhile, though I very recently started using Microsoft Powerpoint, which I had on the com for awhile, but didn't use until recently
     
  6. munkle macrumors 68030

    munkle

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Location:
    On a jet plane
    #6
    ONYX might be causing the problems, I know it did for me. You don't necessarily have to be using it for it to be causing problems, having it on your computer will be enough. Try deleting ONYX (using Find to make sure you get all the associated files), repairing permissions and restarting. Hopefully this will solve the problem.
     
  7. Ja Di ksw thread starter macrumors 65816

    Ja Di ksw

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2003
    #7
    ONYX and everything associated with it have been deleted, repaired permissions, and it's still happening :(
     

Share This Page