Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

omaragra

macrumors member
Original poster
Nov 17, 2008
Hi Guys,

I have a 2 Gen MBA and today suddenly the keyboard, trackpad and even the USB port stopped working, I tried connect an external mouse but it didn't work, even other USB devices are not working !! I tried the display port it is fine, but I am not sure about the audio port. I tried the SMC reset but it did me no good.

I had bought the MBA from Apple UK but currently I am in INDIA for my winter break from UNI. I don't have my OSX discs at the moment they are back in UK, I tried calling the Applecare but they are closed being a Sunday, and I don't want the local Apple Authorised Service center to touch my air as I don't trust them (The appointment of these repair centers in INDIA is not upto the highest standards !)

The keyboard and the trackpad are working in the Apple hardware test, I was able to move around the cursor and even use the keyboard to select the various options, so I believe the hardware is fine.

So any suggestions what can I do in the meantime, I will call Apple Care in UK tomorrow. I am not back in the UK till the 26th January.

Regards

Omar

justit

macrumors 6502a
Dec 1, 2007
So any suggestions what can I do in the meantime, I will call Apple Care in UK tomorrow.

Do you know if the keyboard works at the time of bootup? if so you can try a reset:

MacBook Air
If the MacBook Air is on, turn it off.
Connect the power adaptor to a working power source.
On the MacBook Air keyboard, press (left) Shift-Control-Option along with the power button once.
Note: You must use the keys on the left side of the MacBook Air keyboard.
Wait 5 seconds and press the power button to start the MacBook Air.

omaragra

macrumors member
Original poster
Nov 17, 2008
Do you know if the keyboard works at the time of bootup? if so you can try a reset: