trade in mac for a new one

Discussion in 'iMac' started by dragonmantek, May 1, 2008.

  1. macrumors regular

    dragonmantek

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    Location:
    New York
    #1
    alright, so my cousin told me that in some cases Apple could replace your old mac with your new one, with some sort of deduction.

    i have the last white imac 20",
    Model Identifier: iMac5,1
    if that helps.

    i looked online and the exact one i have is being sold by Apple, on the refurbished page of apple.com for about $949.

    so if i brought it in to an apple store, how much would i get off? i really want a better mac.
     
  2. macrumors 65816

    ryannel2003

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2005
    Location:
    Greenville, NC
    #2
    If you mean trading in your old iMac for a new one... Apple doesn't do that. There are a few services where you can sell your iMac to a company and get the money back, but by doing that you'll loose hundreds of dollars off the machines cost. Your best bet is to sell your iMac on eBay or Craigslist if you want a new one.

    If I may ask, why do you want a new Mac? The last generation white iMac's are still excellent machines, and the screens are much better than the ones offered in the current models. From your sig it says you have 1GB of RAM, and it might be a benefit if you upgrade to 2GB. It would help speed the machine up quite a bit.
     
  3. macrumors 68000

    Bobioden

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Location:
    Denver
    #3
    I think your cousin misinformed you. Apple does not have any kind of trade-in program.
     
  4. macrumors 604

    gkarris

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Location:
    "No escape from Reality..."
    #4
  5. thread starter macrumors regular

    dragonmantek

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    Location:
    New York
    #5
    how would i go about putting in another gig of ram, or possibly putting in a new video card if thats possible?

    my friend said that he had a friend whom uncovered his imac and installed new parts in it?? i didnt think that was possible.

    dont get me wrong, i love this mac i'm using now, its just it doesnt have a good graphics card and memory for what i do.
     
  6. macrumors 65816

    ryannel2003

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2005
    Location:
    Greenville, NC
    #6
    The iMac has a latch near the speaker grilles underneath the LCD screen. Very simple to install RAM, just unscrew and pop in the modules.

    Unfortunately, the one thing you cannot upgrade is the graphics card. The card is soldered onto the motherboard, thus limiting any upgrades. If you want a better graphics card your only option is upgrading to the latest iMac or getting a Mac Pro.
     
  7. macrumors 68040

    IgnatiusTheKing

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Location:
    das Fort
    #7
    Slightly different iMac, but I'm pretty sure the RAM installation is the same as shown here.
     
  8. thread starter macrumors regular

    dragonmantek

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    Location:
    New York
    #8
    what type of RAM would i need for my model?
     
  9. macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #9
    Welcome to MR Dragonman

    One hint is to use the Search function of the Forums, or go to the Guides tab near the top of this window, where many commonly asked questions are answered

    Guides: Hardware: Understanding Intel Mac RAM

    See also the Guides on Buying RAM and Installing RAM
     

Share This Page