Trading Macbook for Macbook Pro-- Questions

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by michaelsaxon, Dec 27, 2006.

  1. michaelsaxon macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    #1
    Hello. I'm considering trading my black 2GHZ Core Duo Macbook with 1GB RAM, 80GB HD and $250, for a 2GHZ Core Duo Macbook Pro, 128MB video, 2GB RAM, 80GB HD. A few questions:

    1) Is that a pretty good deal, do you think?
    2) What should I look for in testing the Macbook Pro when it arrives? Is there an easy battery of tests that I could do or should I simply use it? Are there any specific defects I should be on the lookout for?

    Thanks as always for your help.
     
  2. iW00t macrumors 68040

    iW00t

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Location:
    Defenders of Apple Guild
    #2
    It is a fairly good deal, you even get a memory bump from 1gb to 2gb :)

    The good question is why would the previous owner want to do that though... you may want to check if your machine is affected by the overheating and whining CPU issue.
     
  3. michaelsaxon thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    #3
    It does have a significant amount of warranty left. If it does have those problems, is Apple doing a good job acknowledging and fixing them? Thanks.
     
  4. MaaseyRacer macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco, Ca.
    #4
    That is a killer deal, especially if it is straight trade. As long as there are no defects, just get AppleCare for it, and that should take care of any Hardware issues with it. You have one year to get it from the date of purchase.
    As far as tests, look to make sure the screen is not craked and the case is not dinged. Other than that warranty should take care of everything else.
    Do a format and reinstall, and then boot into single user mode and fsck to test the drive, and type top to check the ram.
     
  5. iW00t macrumors 68040

    iW00t

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Location:
    Defenders of Apple Guild
    #5
    Correct me if I am wrong, but doesn't top display the list of running processes?
     
  6. MaaseyRacer macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco, Ca.
    #6
    Yes it does, but at the top of the screen it shows the amount of RAM free. This way you can round up to the nearest possible RAM configuration. That is the best way to test if the RAM is functioning without registering the computer.
     
  7. iW00t macrumors 68040

    iW00t

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Location:
    Defenders of Apple Guild
    #7
    OIC, I mistook that for what programs like memtest do.
     
  8. MaaseyRacer macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco, Ca.
    #8
    I guess you could also run a TechTool Disk, like the one that comes with AppleCare. But in my experience it has been useless too many times for proper diagnostics.
     
  9. michaelsaxon thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    #9
    So far, it seems to be in tip-top shape minus the eject key, which works but is crooked. Anyone know if that is repairable?

    Also, I can't believe how bad these speakers sound. I was really hoping for an improvement over the Macbook in that department.
     
  10. Mac'Mo macrumors 6502a

    Mac'Mo

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Location:
    NYC
    #10
    i love the MB, i personally find the MBP a little cumbersome and hard to lug around (if you live in a crowded city with lots of commuting). IF you can live with the MBP, go for it
     

Share This Page