Traffic Lights-Wiring on a switch

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by brokecollegeF04, Feb 4, 2007.

  1. brokecollegeF04 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    #1
    So I bought 2 traffic lights from the city of mt. pleasant on eBay i bought 2 toggle switches.. Id like to have them wired to plug into the wall off one power cord.. So im at a loss how to wire these things.. they take standard 110 current.. I can have one at a time working the way I have them wired now.. but id like 2 going on the switches
     
  2. MacNut macrumors Core

    MacNut

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2002
    Location:
    CT
    #2
    Can you supply a pic of that, I would be curious to see what you are doing.
     
  3. Cybix macrumors 6502a

    Cybix

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2006
    Location:
    Western Australia
    #3
    if you dont understand how to wire them up, you shouldn't be playing with AC mains power!
     
  4. MACDRIVE macrumors 68000

    MACDRIVE

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    Location:
    Clovis, California
    #4
    What the frik do you need traffic lights at you house for? :confused:
     
  5. BarryW macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    Location:
    South Africa, Jo'burg /U.A.E, Dubai
    #5
    One of our varsity pubs has a traffic light - as only the head was "salvaged" the red, green, amber lights are controlled with a three way timer, which switches between the lights at a set interval.

    A more expensive/complicated method would be to get a controller and program it for the required functinality.

    A easy programing language is bascom, and there are free plans on the internet to make your own controller using an atmel chip.

    The outputs would drive relays which would then switch your mains power supply.

    If the actual changing of the colors is functional and you just require power, then this poster has some good advice

     
  6. brokecollegeF04 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    #6
    i got them wired..
    Basically im hanging one up in my living room as kind of a hanging lamp.. the other one im making a standing lamp out of.. They are Eagle Durasig Traffic Signal with yellow and green lenses that take a standard 40w bulb
     
  7. djstarrock macrumors 6502a

    djstarrock

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2006
    Location:
    UK, Scotland, Glasgow
    #7
    Could we see pictures.
     
  8. MacNut macrumors Core

    MacNut

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2002
    Location:
    CT
    #8
    Didn't you ever watch Mr Rogers, I always wanted to hang a traffic light on my wall.:)
     
  9. Swarmlord macrumors 6502a

    Swarmlord

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    #9
    I had to settle for the sweater and sneakers. :eek:
     
  10. iSaint macrumors 603

    iSaint

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Location:
    South Mississippi y'all, near the water!
    #10
    A few years ago, my daughter asked our mayor if she could have a traffic light that they were taking down. She got a call a few weeks later. It was wired for a plug, so I imagine one of the light department workers rigged it up for her.
     

    Attached Files:

  11. MacNut macrumors Core

    MacNut

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2002
    Location:
    CT
    #11
    Thats cool, I wonder if I can get my mayor to give me one.
     
  12. puckhead193 macrumors G3

    puckhead193

    Joined:
    May 25, 2004
    Location:
    NY
    #12
    i never realized how big traffic lights are :eek:
     
  13. iSaint macrumors 603

    iSaint

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Location:
    South Mississippi y'all, near the water!
    #13
    That's exactly what we said when we picked it up!
     
  14. brokecollegeF04 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    #14

    The Ones I have are 24 inches tall.. I have 2 of them.. One is going to be on a lamp post and im going to put a couple street signs on top of it.. The other is hung in the corner of my living room.. 40watt bulbs are too bright for them but it looks cool
     
  15. Mammoth macrumors 6502a

    Mammoth

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Location:
    Canada
    #15
    Holy funkadoodle it's massive! :eek:
     
  16. Bobdude161 macrumors 65816

    Bobdude161

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Location:
    N'Albany, Indiana
    #16
    Clearly it is photoshopped!! :mad:
     
  17. iSaint macrumors 603

    iSaint

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Location:
    South Mississippi y'all, near the water!
    #17
    I have not the talents to pull such a stunt. :mad: :rolleyes:
     
  18. BarryW macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    Location:
    South Africa, Jo'burg /U.A.E, Dubai
    #18
    How much does that thing weigh?
     
  19. iSaint macrumors 603

    iSaint

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Location:
    South Mississippi y'all, near the water!
    #19
    It's mostly plastic. Still, maybe 30 lbs?
     

Share This Page