Transfering Hard Disk from one mac to another

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by sidney1975, Jul 8, 2004.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    #1
    Hi,
    I have two G4 and I want to add the HD from one to the other. Is it possible to do this without losing the data that is on the disk currently? Is their a procedure I shuld be following? I am running osx/os9 on both macs. I want to put a new larger drive into one and combine the data from the two current macs on the other.

    Ta very much in advance
     
  2. macrumors 6502a

    Finiksa

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
    Location:
    Australia
    #2
    Nope no particular procedure needed, just set the jumper from Master to Slave on the drive you're transferring (unless both drives are currently set to Cable Select which you can leave as is).

    When you boot up the machine hold down the Option key and it'll list all bootable partitions on both drives.
     
  3. macrumors G4

    Mord

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2003
    Location:
    Old York
    #3
    thats assuming that you have a tower if you have an emac or an imac you can but you have to give up your optical drive if you have a laptop then you cant

    you could get a hard drive caddy but if you do make sure you get a firewire one


    (and next time say exactly what mac you have)
     
  4. macrumors 603

    wordmunger

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2003
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #4
    How important is the data on the hard drive you're moving? To be ultra-secure, you should back up your data first. If it would be inconvenient, but not devastating, to lose the data, you'll probably be fine without backing up.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    #5
    Thanks for help,
    I have done the work and all is functioning well with no loss of data.

    Ta :)
     

Share This Page