transfering to drives

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by derajfast, Sep 25, 2005.

  1. derajfast macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2004
    #1
    my internal hard drive just died, and i have everything backed up on an external....i am going to be putting in a new internal soon, but i do not have my tiger install disk on me since i am at college.....how could i copy all my files prefs and such to the internal if its not bootable ? is it possible or does it have to be bootable to do that? also.......once it is bootable, how do i copy all my system prefs? i have tried using carbon copy before, but i tihnk that it freezes when it runs on my computer, but perhaops thatll change.....thanks!
     
  2. wdlove macrumors P6

    wdlove

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2002
  3. derajfast thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2004
    #3
    i dont have my install disk though....so if i copy everthng it will be bootable without me installing tiger first/
     
  4. ElectricSheep macrumors 6502

    ElectricSheep

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Location:
    Wilmington, DE
    #4
    How is everything backed up to the external drive? By everything, do you mean just your stuff, or all system files?
     
  5. derajfast thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2004
    #5
    well i instaleld tiger on the external to make it bootable, and then i used CCC to clone my internal and put it on my external so everything was backed up including prefs, files, etc......but can i clone without installing the OS on a blank drive? or do i have to install the OS first?
     
  6. KittenKrusher macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2005
    #6
    I know if it were a PC there are some boot floppies out there to do this without the need of an OS. I have never had to try this on a Mac however.

    If you boot using your external drive, your tiger on that ext drive should pick up the new blank internal drive. At that point you should be able to throw everything back over to the internal.

    If I misunderstood your post, sorry :(
     
  7. derajfast thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2004
    #7
    no like say i use carbon copy to copy my drive to the new internal one from the bootable external.......does it copy like the operating system too? so that i can boot off of it once the copy is done? or do i need to install the OS on it before i can do that
     
  8. ElectricSheep macrumors 6502

    ElectricSheep

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Location:
    Wilmington, DE
    #8
    CCC should have the ability to copy everything, system included. Whether or not the copy will be bootable depends on more than just copying files.
     
  9. derajfast thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2004
    #9
    so if i clone a bootable drive on to a non bootalbe, i will be able to boot from that one?
     
  10. KittenKrusher macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2005
    #10
    I am not sure if it will be bootable... it will have all the files... but being bootable, not sure. I guess the only thing to do is try, lol.
     
  11. ibjoshua macrumors 6502a

    ibjoshua

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2002
    Location:
    Japan
    #11
    I upgraded my internal drive a couple of years ago and did exactly what you are hoping to do. As long as your external drive is bootable (and Firewire I think) the Mac will automatically look for it and start from it when it detects no OS X on the new internal drive. Then all you have to do is format the new drive and clone to it, change your startup disk and restart.


    i_b_joshua
     

Share This Page