Transfering to new mac without access to old one

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Yoursh, Jul 15, 2006.

  1. Yoursh macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Location:
    MN
    #1
    I was checking around the forums but was unable to come up with the solution I was looking for.

    I will be selling my ibook and purchasing a new macbook in a few weeks and I'm unsure of how to transfer what I need from my cuurent system to the new one. I have read about using migration asistant and target disk mode but I will most likely have to do fresh install on the ibook and have it transfered to the new owner before I purchase the macbook. Tranfering applications, photos, and music will be a simple enough of a task since I use an ipod as a portable drive but my main concern is os settings. I not sure how to transfer things like network settings, keychains, and itunes peferences like playlists/podcast subscriptions. I would rather not have to manually set all of this back up, especially the network setting/passwords. Are there files I can copy then import into the new system? Could I make a copy of the HD onto one of my blank ipods then use tagret disk mode with it?

    Any advice would be appreciated. Thanks
     
  2. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #2
    You could use Carbon Copy Cloner to create a clone of your drive on the iPod and then use Migration Assistant to get the data onto the new Mac. :)
     
  3. Yoursh thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Location:
    MN
    #3
    I would have to use an ipod firewire cable correct? Not a usb one.
     
  4. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
  5. Yoursh thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Location:
    MN
    #5
    Doesn't migration assistant require a firewire connection?
     
  6. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #6
    I've never done it, but I assume the Firewire connection is only needed for Target Disk Mode. The iPod should be able to be recognised as another volume on the same Mac (second option at the opening page) but I may be wrong. :)
     
  7. Aurora macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2003
    Location:
    USA
    #7

    Migration Assistant is the devil. Please don't use it.
     
  8. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #8
    Ha. :D

    It's okay for the basic files (documents, music, videos, photos and so on) but I agree, you've gotta keep a pretty close eye on it.
     
  9. steve_hill4 macrumors 68000

    steve_hill4

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Location:
    NG9, England
    #9
    Migration Assistant does require FireWire.

    Is there any reason you don't want to just backup onto CD/DVD? It may not help when transferring to your MacBook, (having to redo preferences etc), but gives you the opportunity to back everything up and have that backup for the future.
     
  10. funkychunkz macrumors 6502a

    funkychunkz

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2005
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    #10
    Have you ever tried cloning a normal drive using only cd's??? Didn't think so.
     
  11. Yoursh thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Location:
    MN
    #11
    My main goal is to make the transfer as simple as possible. I originally just planned on transfering files manually but I'm unsure of what profile folders I would need to back up. If migration assistant is a bit of a pain, I'll skip it.
     
  12. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #12
    I'd just copy across your Home folder onto the iPod (and eventually the new machine) and then reinstall the apps manually from the CDs or DMGs from whence they came. It's probably 'cleaner' and easier. :)
     
  13. sunfast macrumors 68020

    sunfast

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Location:
    London
    #13
    iBackup is perfect!

    I used iBackup to do almost exactly this. Backed up my iMac to an external HDD using iBackup. Then plugged HDD into new MacBook and restored said backup. Worked a treat.
     
  14. Yoursh thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Location:
    MN
    #14
    Thanks everybody for all the advice. I'll give that iBackup a try since that is sort of what I was looking for. I plan on picking a Macbook up after WWDC. I'm holding off incase of any updates.
     

Share This Page