Transferring Files

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by MLuskus, Jul 27, 2006.

  1. MLuskus macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    #1
    I'm currently the owner of a 2+ year old iBook G4. I'm going to be buying a new iMac soon and was wondering what the easiest way to transfer my files is. Also, is it possible to transfer programs as well? It would make my life a bit easier to not have to reinstall microsoft office and some other programs that I consider essential.

    Thanks for the help.
     
  2. jsw Moderator emeritus

    jsw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Andover, MA
    #2
    Either when you first set up the new Mac (when it will actually ask you if you want to do this) or anytime after, you can use Applications->Utilities->Migration Assistant to move those things over. I think you just need a Firewire cable between the two Macs.

    [​IMG]
     
  3. Kelmon macrumors 6502a

    Kelmon

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2005
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #3
    I'm considering this myself but I'm thinking that I may forgo this since I actually do want to reinstall my applications as I'd like to ensure that I have the latest versions and not encounter any potential PowerPC/Intel problems. Still, if anyone has used the Migration Assistant from a PowerPC to Intel system and found that it worked great, let me know as it'll probably make my life easier.
     
  4. Hytower77 macrumors regular

    Hytower77

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2005
    Location:
    Some random place outside of Fort Worth, TX
    #4
    Kelmon,

    I just did this last week. From my power book to my new iMac, it worked like a charm. It makes a carbon copy of your desktop, dock, file locations and everything and then runs through software update after that. I haven't had a problem one.

    Most of the stuff I had was universial to begin with, I guess it depends on home much stuff you have that is PPC native.
     
  5. Hytower77 macrumors regular

    Hytower77

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2005
    Location:
    Some random place outside of Fort Worth, TX
    #5
    Yep, that is all you need. You'll have to restart your old Mac and hold down the "T" key until firewire symbol comes up on the screen, then the new mac takes over.

    Easy as heck...:p
     

Share This Page