Transposing while recording??Possible with GarageBand?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by wwooden, Feb 5, 2005.

  1. wwooden macrumors 68000

    wwooden

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Burlington, VT
    #1
    Hi, I am learning a new song on the piano and it is played, at the lowest, 3 octaves down from middle C. The problem is my keyboard only has 64 keys and only reaches to the second octave down. I am using a MIDI connection and I want to be able to have GarageBand transpose the keyboard while I am playing. So, say I play the song up on middle C but it would sound like it was down 3 octaves. I can't find a way to do this while recording. You can transpose after you record, that is not a problem, but it would nice to hear it the right way while I play it. Any suggestions? I have searched all through GarageBand can't find a way. Might be another suggestion I send to apple as feedback soon.
     
  2. wwooden thread starter macrumors 68000

    wwooden

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Burlington, VT
    #2
    I guess from the amount of responses there is no way to do this. I will just have to find another way to do it.
     
  3. stoid macrumors 601

    stoid

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2002
    Location:
    So long, and thanks for all the fish!
    #3
    Some keyboards have built-in transpose features, the most I've seen is a 12-not (1 octave) transpose in each direction. I don't have a USB MIDI box, so I can't hook my keyboard up to my laptop, but if you create a track, and set the transpose down, and then record to it, what does it do?
     
  4. wwooden thread starter macrumors 68000

    wwooden

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Burlington, VT
    #4
    Yeah, my keyboard can do upto 12 by itself, but when I connect it to my computer, nothing is changed. I will keep trying and see if I can come up with anything.
     
  5. wwooden thread starter macrumors 68000

    wwooden

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Burlington, VT
    #5
    Just wanted to share with everyone what I have come up with for transposing while recording with Garageband. I find this program called MIDI Patchbay. It can transpose the MIDI information from my piano before it gets to Garageband, but I haven't quite figured out how to make it not send the original note as well. So basically I am getting two notes when I press one key; the original and the transposed one. I will keep playing around with it to see if i can solve the problem.
     
  6. theolog macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    #6
    looking for the answer...

    did you ever figure out how to make this work? I'm a fellow South Carolinian who's trying to transpose via midi :)
     

Share This Page