Traveling to Vancouver/Victoria, BC

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by Poeben, Jun 15, 2006.

1. Poeben macrumors 6502

Jul 29, 2004
    I will be traveling to Vancouver/Victoria, BC this August and was hoping some of the locals on MacRumors could help me out with a few things. First, this is not purely a vacation as I am planning to relocate there permanently (from the New York Metro area.) Here's a few of my questions:

1. I plan to stay about one month, so I am looking to sublet a 1 BR apartment for that time. Is there anywhere in particular I should look in the Greater Vancouver Area? Anywhere to avoid? I will have to find something sight unseen and will need close access to public transportation.

2. Here's the big one.. I will be looking for work while I am there, or at the very least make some contacts. I have been a live sound engineer for over 6 years, but in the past 2 years I have been getting more into studio and post work. Ideally I would be looking for employment at a recording/post facility or medium-large venue. I am also qualified for most stage/tech positions so I would consider other options as well. Can anyone help me out here?

It would be cool to meet some of the members from the area while I am there. I also plan to spend a week in and around Victoria and Naniamo. I have been told that the island is nothing like the mainland, so I feel it's worth looking into. If you are interested let me know. I'm a 28 year-old male musician and Mac user...what more do you need to know?

Thanks in advance for any help/advice.
  2. blackfox macrumors 65816

Feb 18, 2003
    While I will let a Vancouver native speak to the best places to live (as I have always been a guest), if you are looking for a sublet, I would check out craigslist - they have a Vancouver listing, and it is a great resource.