Travelling with Apple TV...

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by Irishman, Jul 12, 2013.

  1. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    #1
    We're at the beach this week on vacation, and brought the ATV2 for entertainment, to use on the TVs here.

    When I connect it via HDMI, and power up, it stays on a setting time page forever. If I back out of it to try to bypass it, all it shows me is the computers button and settings button.

    What's up with that??!!?!
     
  2. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Location:
    Virginia
    #2
    Sounds like you don't have a network connection. Try opening the Settings menu and configuring the network. If you're at a hotel, they usually have a login screen that you won't be able to get past on ATV. Post back if you can verify that there is a network connection problem, or search the forum, I'm sure I've seen threads on connecting AppleTV to a protected network.
     
  3. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2013
    #3
    That's my biggest gripe. I have to travel with a Apple TV and an airport express to make those work. What a PITA. Would it be that hard to add a login screen to the apple TV?
     
  4. macrumors 68030

    FreakinEurekan

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    Location:
    Eureka Springs, Arkansas
    #4
    The login screens at hotels are not standardized, they're web pages using DNS redirects. The Apple TV would need a web browser in order to access them. Not impossible, but not trivial.
     
  5. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #5
    It's a bit techy but here's what I do. I use this app (see below) on my macbook air, I have a script to clone the atv mac address and then I get online with my macbook air, go through the web login etc. Once i verify net is working I then reset my macbook back to the hardware mac address. At that point I power up the atv and have it connect to the wifi and bam it works.

    https://github.com/feross/SpoofMAC
     
  6. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2012
    Location:
    Northwest Ohio
    #6
    I have suggested this before as it has worked for me at all hotels/motels I have stayed in. Carry an Airport Express and connect it to the hotel network, preferably with a wired connection. This has to be authenticated on the network using a computer, iPhone or iPad. Once this is done then all devices, including the Apple TV can connect to the network without requiring further authentication.

    I have heard that some hotels may block switches or routers in rooms and also that they may require each device to authenticate, but I have not encountered this. At every place I just had to to authenticate the Airport Express and then had excellent wireless access for all other devices.
     
  7. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2013
    #7
    That's pretty slick. I'll have to try that next time I am on the road.

    ----------

    A web browser has been a feature that has been clamored for since the introduction of the AppleTV. An iPod has a web browser. Seems pretty trivial to me.
     
  8. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012
    #8
    Not so trivial when you consider the interface you're using to "type", the remote with a spinning wheel. If you're going to use an iPad as a remote to bypass that, why not just browse on the iPad instead and AirPlay if you need to share on the big screen?
     
  9. macrumors 68040

    shenan1982

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #9
    Why not just plug the iPad or iPhone into the TV with an HDMI cable? Seems odd to travel with an Apple TV... now I know why so many travelers feel the need to travel with huge suitcases that weigh 100 lbs.
     
  10. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2013
    #10
    We still "type" when searching Netflix, Hulu, Flickr or Youtube. Or when searching your media library. Not that big a deal.

    Besides, we have wanted a browser since before airplay.

    You must not have an AppleTV. The remote doesn't have a spinning wheel.
     
  11. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012
    #11
    I actually DO have one, that's just the best way to describe the motion. I also don't use that remote, I use a HarmonyOne, though that doesn't make "typing" any easier.
     
  12. thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    #12
    Thanks for your attempts to help, guys. Looks like I'm SOL til next time.
     
  13. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2013
    #13
    Spinning wheel is the best way to describe an up, down, left, right control?:confused:
     
  14. macrumors 65816

    Nightarchaon

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    #14
    Soooo glad i have the APple TV1, 140GB of local content, no messing, easy to travel with (removed wifi card, added h.264 decoder so it now does 1080p) :D
     

Share This Page