Treo650 and iSync? Help?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by MacAztec, Aug 12, 2005.

  1. MacAztec macrumors 68040

    MacAztec

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2001
    Location:
    San Luis Obispo, CA
    #1
    Ok, my Dad bought a Treo650 yesterday, and we are trying to get it to sync with iSync. People have recommended Mark/Space - The Missing Sync, but I have it, and it isn't working.

    Say I started from scratch. No Palm Desktop, no HotSync, nothing installed (except iSync 2.0).

    What would I need to do, in what order, to get the Treo650 and iSync (or even Missing Sync) to work flawlessly over Bluetooth?

    I would like to sync Address Book and iCal.

    Thanks a lot.
     
  2. varmit macrumors 68000

    varmit

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2003
    #2
    Do you have the latest release of Missing Sync, since the Treo650 is only less than a month out. And who is the provider for the phone, Verizon or Cingular, since some providers lock down the Bluetooth, so you will have to use the USB cable, and even then you might not get the functionality you wanted. I have a Moto v710 that has bluetooth, but I can't iSync interface with my Mac over bluetooth because Verizon doesn't allow it. I can use it as a bluetooth modem but other than that, I can't do anything with it.

    If anything, first you need the pair the Mac with the Treo. I hope you know how to do this since I don't want to go though the steps to do it. But you will need to go to the Bluetooth area on your Mac and Treo and get them talking. At that point, you will find out if they lock down your bluetooth on your Treo.

    If they do lock down the bluetooth, get out the USB cable.
     
  3. MacAztec thread starter macrumors 68040

    MacAztec

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2001
    Location:
    San Luis Obispo, CA
    #3
    My provider is Cingular, and I can pair the Treo with my Mac. When I open up iSync to add it as a Device, iSync tells me it is not able to sync with the Treo.


    I also have the newest release of Missing Sync.
     
  4. ckeck macrumors 6502a

    ckeck

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Location:
    Texas
    #4
    Cingular does not cripple the bluetooth function on the Treo 650's, I'm not sure about Verizon though...

    I have synced via bluetooth with the Cingular Treo on my Windows PC numerous times...

    Also, the Treo 650 has been out for several months, not just recently (I work for Cingular BTW)

    ;)
     
  5. iGary Guest

    iGary

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Location:
    Randy's House
    #5
    Did you add the device in iSync yet?

    After that, you have to enable HotSync in the preference and in HotSync itself.
     

Share This Page