TRIM on 2011 MBA

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by BiscottiGelato, Jul 24, 2011.

  1. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    #1
    I take it that TRIM works by default and flawlessly for the 2011 MBAs? For both Samsung and Toshiba drives?
     
  2. macrumors 65816

    reclusive46

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Location:
    England
  3. macrumors 604

    theSeb

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Location:
    Poole, England
  4. macrumors member

    Kaidan

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Location:
    London, UK
  5. macrumors regular

    Chopstick217

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Location:
    Huntington Beach, CA
    #5
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8C148 Safari/6533.18.5)

    Do we need to run any trim software periodically similar to windows? Or does it automatically do it for you?
     
  6. macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Location:
    Ft Lauderdale
    #6
    Where does it show this?
     
  7. macrumors 68040

    Cynicalone

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Location:
    Okie land
    #7
    In system profiler, under the Serial-ATA tab.

    Which is in the Utility Folder.

    Of course there are other ways to open that but that is the direct route.
     
  8. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    #8
    If it's real TRIM and it works properly, as far as I understand it's that you don't need to run anything periodically and it just takes care of itself.
     
  9. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011
    #9
    You understand correctly.:D
     
  10. macrumors 6502a

    dugbug

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    Location:
    Somewhere in Florida
    #10
    This is excellent news, and a good question OP.

    Something even arstechnica.com did not include in their Lion review (or as it should be know as "Encyclopedia Lion-ica").
     

Share This Page