TRIM Support Enabler

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Cindori, Mar 26, 2011.

  1. Cindori, Mar 26, 2011
    Last edited: Jan 6, 2012

    macrumors 68040

    Cindori

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Sweden
  2. Moderator emeritus

    Hellhammer

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
  3. thread starter macrumors 68040

    Cindori

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Sweden
    #3
    coolio, try this

    just try "Get Model" and post here what it gives, and what says under your "S-ATA" in System information


    Patch doesnt work yet
     

    Attached Files:

  4. Moderator emeritus

    Hellhammer

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #4
    [​IMG]

    So, do I run the app or is there something I need to tweak before running it?

    EDIT: Ran Get Model and it came up with AppleScript Error

    [​IMG]
     
  5. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    #5
    I'm on 10.6.7 with and Intel SSD
    SSDDAS2M160G2GC
    When I click Get Model Shows OPTIARC D (which is my DVD drive).
    Typing in Manually it says must be 9 letters?
    It's not searching down at my Serial-ATA section,just the ATA section.


    later
     
  6. thread starter macrumors 68040

    Cindori

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Sweden
    #6
    thanks, thats good enough for now

    will work a little more
     
  7. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2008
    #7
    I think it's very noble of you to write some code to enable TRIM support. But Apple is officially supporting TRIM as part of Lion. Nice work though!
     
  8. Moderator emeritus

    Hellhammer

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #8
    TRIM support is only enabled with Apple's SSDs. This should enable it for all SSDs.
     
  9. thread starter macrumors 68040

    Cindori

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Sweden
    #9
    Only for Apple SSD. which is why this will be useful.
     
  10. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
  11. Moderator emeritus

    Hellhammer

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #11
    Not sure what your point is but I'm pretty sure Cindori is already aware of those hacks like he mentioned in the OP:

    He also said:

    And I fully agree with that.
     
  12. macrumors regular

    donw35

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #12
    running 10.6.7 on my Hackintosh and would be willing to give it a go, do you have a back out process in case it kills the install ?

    Machine specs below
     
  13. macrumors newbie

    deadbear

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011
    Location:
    Alberta
    #13
    Guys this is so simple to do. I would never be a guinea pig for someone. No offence to the op.
    Just do a little reading and within 10min you'll have TRIM.
    Basically you HEX one extension, you replace APPLE-SSD with the first 9 letters of your SSD, mine was OCZ-VETRE, thats it, hello TRIM :)

    it's all here:

    http://www.hardmac.com/news/2011/03/25/how-to-activate-trim-on-any-ssd

    The only difference I ran into was after I saved my hacked file there was one with a ~ attached to it. The first time I booted I got the grey screen with the x.
    Restarted with the option key, deleted the file with a ~,rebooted and TRIM = YES.
     
  14. Cindori, Mar 26, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 27, 2011

    thread starter macrumors 68040

    Cindori

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Sweden
    #14
    what happened when there was a discovery of how to hexedit gpu firmware roms to allow efi? well, 50+ pages of people asking for me and others to do it, was what happened. so I made a much appreciated automatic firmware converter for zeus.

    a one click trim enabler would be just as useful, if not much more.

    try running this in terminal

    /usr/sbin/system_profiler -detailLevel mini | egrep '(Model): ' | cut -d: -f1-


    and post output here

    haha, it seems a user on HM just discovered you don't even have to enter model, you can just remove model and it will respond to any model :rolleyes:


    makes last 6h of my day kinda useless, hah
     
  15. walshlink, Mar 26, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 26, 2011

    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    #15
    OP...looking forward to a working script...I'm lazy :cool:

    Link to HM user's post?

     
  16. Moderator emeritus

    Hellhammer

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #16
    .
     
  17. thread starter macrumors 68040

    Cindori

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Sweden
    #17
    i'll post a remake-the-easy-way

    but right now comp ****ing up, brb
     
  18. thread starter macrumors 68040

    Cindori

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Sweden
  19. Moderator emeritus

    Hellhammer

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
  20. thread starter macrumors 68040

    Cindori

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Sweden
  21. Moderator emeritus

    Hellhammer

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
  22. thread starter macrumors 68040

    Cindori

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Sweden
    #22
    What OS where u on?


    btw tried for myself and worked


    [​IMG]


    does the SSD u have have TRIM support? i mean in the SSD itself?
     
  23. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    #23
    Just tried on a 2011 13" MBP - no trim support. 10.6.7
     
  24. Moderator emeritus

    Hellhammer

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #24
    10.6.7. Everything is up-to-date according to Software Update.
     
  25. thread starter macrumors 68040

    Cindori

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Sweden
    #25
    u guys that cant get it working


    zip your IOAHCIFamily.kext from Extensions folder and upload
     

Share This Page