Triple Monitor Setup

Discussion in 'iMac' started by badman89, Dec 19, 2012.

?

Which looks better

  1. iMac + 2x Thunderbolt

    21 vote(s)
    50.0%
  2. Mac Pro + 3x Thunderbolt

    21 vote(s)
    50.0%
  1. badman89, Dec 19, 2012
    Last edited: Dec 19, 2012

    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2011
    #1
    Check out this triple monitor set up. I want this so bad! My question:

    iMac (27") + 2x Thunderbolt Display (27")

    OR

    Mac Mini + 3x Thunderbolt Display (27")

    Basically I need to know if I can put a thunderbolt display on either side of the iMac and it will all line up properly (unlike in the picture with the Dell displays).
     
  2. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    #2
    The iMac won't line up properly with the thunderbolt display. I think this was a bad idea on Apple's part.
     
  3. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    #3
    2012 27" has two Thunderbolt/mDP ports. The Dells used are U3011 (30" 2560x1600). You can use the Dell U2711 (27" 2560x1440 like the 2012 27" iMac).
     
  4. macrumors 68000

    jetjaguar

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Location:
    somewhere
    #4
    it is a real shame that the imac does not properly line up with the thunderbolt displays .. just makes it look weird. I want to run a triple monitor setup as well but it just doesnt look right doing it with the iMac:(
     
  5. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2011
    #5
    Sorry, I meant mac mini, not mac pro.

    Is it possible to connect three displays to the mac mini? Would I be able to watch a movie spanning all three?
     
  6. macrumors 68000

    jetjaguar

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Location:
    somewhere
  7. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Location:
    Asheville, NC
    #7
    here is my setup... only one TB display and a samsung display/TV on the other side (I'd like another TB, but just can't justify another grand!)

    looking into options to raise the TB and samsung to make them level with the iMac, but it's ok for now

    one of the best parts of this thin iMac, even though it's just the edges, is that the edge of the TB display fits right behind it at the angle I'm using, cutting the amount of bezel between displays in half :)
     

    Attached Files:

  8. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    #8
    Nope (unless you have last year's midrange model with the AMD GPU).

    http://support.apple.com/kb/HT5219#dispnum
     
  9. macrumors 6502a

    Jazwire

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #9
    My desk is messy atm or I'd take a picture.

    But I have 2 - 27" iMacs (2012/2011) w/ a 27" thunderbolt display hooked to the 2012 iMac.


    I use a free program called Synergy, so I only use 1 keyboard and mouse. My mouse moves over to my bootcamp machine just like the dual screen, its rather amazing, seamless and fluid everything flows. I just can't drag anything over the the Windows machine of course.

    You would never know I am running Windows on 1 screen if you didn't see the little Start Icon and quickbar on the bottom. Quite impressed how it looks and works.

    I wasn't really aware till recently that you could move so seamlessly between two different computers and OS's. But in the end this works out perfectly for me as I do need Windows/Parallels for work stuff.

    I was going to originally get another thunderbolt display and sell the 2011, but for me this is absolutely a perfect set up.

    Also, triple monitor backgrounds are so fun, and look so cool too. :)
     
  10. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2011
    #10
    Thank you so much for your response. However, your picture is rather disappointing to me - as it shows that the Thunderbold Display and iMac display are misaligned!

    When you say that you're trying to raise the TB what exactly do you mean? Is the height adjustable? Or are you just thinking of putting something below the base?
     
  11. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Location:
    Michigan
    #11
    3 x Thunderbolt Displays... 3 x 2560x1440.. 11,059,200 pixels... driven by an Intel HD 4000 integrated GPU?

    I'll be honest, I have ZERO experience with that arrangement but it sure sounds like a bad idea if you can even get 3 displays to work. I thought the limit was 2 but again, I'm not sure.
     
  12. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Location:
    Asheville, NC
    #12
    putting something below the base... see this thread:

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1242827

    the OP has a stand for his that looks like what I might get. perfect spot to slide the iPad under too
     
  13. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2012
    #13
    aligning the imac with tb displays

    ok guys heres what you do, I have the same setup, 2 tb displays and a 2011 imac, (waiting on my new 27 now, which apparently isnt vesa compatable) and for the longest time i looked into options for aligning the three...and heres what i came up with, I bought 3 independent mounting arms (erogtech 7500 hd to be exact) vesa mounted all three and it works awesome.

    What your going to have to do if you got the new iMac is use two mounting arms for the two outside tb displays and use them to raise them up to align with the imac which you'll just leave on its stand. Well this is what ill do anyway..or if your not running some type of eyefinity setup,and you dont want to spend the money just leave it alone, they look fine next to eachother, it really doesn't matter as each screen is independent anyway... hope this helps
     
  14. macrumors 65816

    henrikrox

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    #14
    Problem solved

    I use 2 of these with my thunderbolt displays to align them with the imac

    http://www.twelvesouth.com/products/hirise_imac/
     
  15. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2006
    #15
    Good lord, $80!!
    Did their raw materials get sourced from the space shuttle??
     
  16. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2012
    #16
    or you could use the 12 south high rise absolutely. Its definately the cheapest way to go aside from propping something underneath it...I personally just didnt like the way it looked at all..I like the imac stand the way it is originally..imho
     
  17. macrumors 68000

    jetjaguar

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Location:
    somewhere
    #17
    yea the highrise is an option but it just looks kinda weird from the front
     
  18. macrumors 68000

    Outrigger

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    #18
    How did you connect the TB to the imac? Can you use the existing built in cable from the TB to the imac or you have purchase a standalone cable?
     
  19. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    Location:
    Gateshead//Newcastle/UK
    #19
    Am i the only one who has thought of buying a 27" imac for the main unit & 2 further (even older) imac's for target display mode for the 2 other screens?

    granted isn't a cheap option but would look even.

    would mean they all look the same and are all the same height and resolution.

    Ste0803
     
  20. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    #20
    The Mid 2011 mini with AMD graphics and Late 2012 mini can do 3 monitors but only a maximum of 2 Thunderbolt Displays. The 3rd monitor must be connected via HDMI.

    http://support.apple.com/kb/HT5219?viewlocale=en_US&locale=en_US#dispnum
     
  21. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Location:
    Asheville, NC
    #21
    the TB cable on the TB display is plugged into one TB port on the iMac and an MDP to HDMI adapter is plugged into the other. For some reason I couldn't daisy chain iMac > TB display > HDMI, the HDMI display just didn't show anything
     
  22. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Location:
    SoCal
    #22
    Why not buy two thunderbolt displays with new iMac and then pickup two VESA mount kit and two floating arm VESA stands. That would be a nice setup. You could line it up just right and the two side monitors would look like they are floating. You would be looking at about 2500 out the door
     
  23. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Location:
    SoCal
    #23
    I don't believe Mac Mini can do 3 thunderbolt displays. You can max run two of the thunderbolt port. A third would need some sort of hdmi to mini display port adapter and even then I think max it can only do 1080p natively, otherwise you have to SwitchResX and force at 40Hz. Not totally sure.

    Read Here
     
  24. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #24
    I thought with thunderbolts u-buet chaining we could have 10(?) devices from the one port?
    Of course, that's not saying that the Mac mini video has the grunt to run more then 2 displays, but just a comment regarding the selling speal about thunderbolt.
     
  25. macrumors 601

    GermanyChris

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Location:
    Here
    #25
    It's twelve south..
     

Share This Page