Trouble opening Activity Monitor

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by mac4matt, Jul 19, 2006.

  1. mac4matt macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2006
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #1
    I'm not sure what's wrong with my macbook, but the activity monitor won't open. Whenever I click on it, nothing happens. Any suggestions?
     
  2. Moe macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2003
    #2
    You should see it in the dock with a small black triangle under it. Clicking that icon in the dock should bring up the window.
     
  3. aristobrat macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    #3
    Depending on how you left it, Activity Monitor may open, but not show you the window that you want.

    After you click on it, wait til it's loaded, and then try hitting CMD-1 for the main window.
     
  4. mac4matt thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2006
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #4
    BTW - I'm fairly new to macs. That aside, when I click on the program in application - utilities folder nothing happens. Then I do a search in spotlight and click on that and nothing happens. The window does not appear on the screen and the icon doesn't show up in the dock (like usual).

    I have used AM quite a bit in the past and it has always worked fine. The last thing I did to it was "remove from dock". Did I mess something up when I did that? I don't understand?
     
  5. aristobrat macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    #5
    I'm still new to Macs too but I'm having a blast learning! :)

    The only other thing I can think of is to use Disk Utility to repair permissions.
     
  6. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #6
    Weird. If you restart the machine can you open Activity Monitor? If you still can't, then create a new user account in System Preferences and try opening it in that account. :)
     
  7. mac4matt thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2006
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #7
    It's working again! I'm not sure what was wrong, but it opens just fine now. Thanks for the replies.
     

Share This Page