Trouble with CanoScan LiDE 30...

Discussion in 'Mac Help/Tips' started by chewbaccapits, Dec 8, 2002.

  1. chewbaccapits macrumors 6502a

    chewbaccapits

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2001
    Location:
    Torrance, Californizzel
    #1
    It gives me this error message:

    ERROR creating file.

    1008:5,-5000 Access denied error..


    I try to install the software but I get access denied errors...But the kicker is that is doesn't ask for my password...


    If anyone has this scanner you know what I'm must be going thru..Please help...
     

    Attached Files:

  2. chewbaccapits thread starter macrumors 6502a

    chewbaccapits

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2001
    Location:
    Torrance, Californizzel
    #2
    Ah come on...8 views and still nothing?

    Help please!!!
     
  3. alex_ant macrumors 68020

    alex_ant

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2002
    Location:
    All up in your bidness
    #3
    I have the N670U which is also LIDE based. What software are you talking about? The ScanGear drivers? Which OS?
     
  4. chewbaccapits thread starter macrumors 6502a

    chewbaccapits

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2001
    Location:
    Torrance, Californizzel
    #4


    the scan gear drivers..I'm trying to install it thru 10.2...but it won't let me..Some how the PASSWORD prompt does pop up....I don't understand it..The scanner can with the CD, for driver issued way back in APRILL2002..It has to be installed thru classic but once done..I tried installing the NEW drivers located on the CANON website (they seem to be aquafied, but the insll process looks"CLASSIC"..so it doesn't prompt me for my PASSWORD, thius, giving me not enough access privilages....Any thoughts?
     
  5. alex_ant macrumors 68020

    alex_ant

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2002
    Location:
    All up in your bidness
    #5
    Do you already have the CanoScan toolbox installed? There are two files for OS X for that scanner on the Canon website, and it says you need to install the Toolbox before you install the ScanGear 7.0.1.0X driver.

    Also, having not enough access privileges might not be because the installer isn't prompting you for a password. It might be because your system permissions are screwed up (happens quite frequently in Jaguar). You could make sure they aren't by booting from the Jaguar install CD and fixing permissions from within the Disk Utility, then re-trying to install the driver.
     
  6. chewbaccapits thread starter macrumors 6502a

    chewbaccapits

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2001
    Location:
    Torrance, Californizzel
    #6
    Awesome..

    I'll try that later..You've been most helpful...
     
  7. chewbaccapits thread starter macrumors 6502a

    chewbaccapits

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2001
    Location:
    Torrance, Californizzel
    #7
    Hey still there?

    Hey still there?...I fixed permissions...But still won't work....Any other ideas?
     
  8. shadowfax0 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 2, 2002
    #8
    that's a bit strange, I say talk to Canon, write them an email, they might ahve a fix (being they wrote the software)
     
  9. chewbaccapits thread starter macrumors 6502a

    chewbaccapits

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2001
    Location:
    Torrance, Californizzel
    #9
    well..thx then..

    I just might have to return it...They're giving me the shaft...this is the big help thye gave me :



    "Thank you for your inquiry. I apologize for any inconveniences you
    have
    experienced with your Canon scanner.

    Please check the permissions on the folder Mac HD\Library\CFMSupport\.
    Do the permissions match the following?

    Owner: System (read and write)
    Group: admin (read only)
    Others: (read only)

    If the admin permissions are set as Read Only and you are logged in as
    an admin, then you may not have the permissions to install the
    necessary
    files into the Mac HD\Library\CFMSupport\ folder. Please contact Apple
    for more information on correcting the permissions to allow the scanner
    installation to install to this folder. Once the permissions are
    corrected, reinstall the scanner driver.

    Thank you for contacting Canon.

    Sincerely,

    Dan
    Product Support Representative"


    I mean, that cfm support folder doesn't tell jack!...what are they talking about. You gave me more help then they seem to know...thx..
     
  10. shadowfax0 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 2, 2002
    #10
    ...but did you check? (Sorry if you did it, but jsut want to make sure :) ) Click on the folder and say 'Get Info' and see if the ermissions are how they said they should be. If you already did that then I'm not sure what to tell you...this all seems to be a very strange situation... :confused:
     

Share This Page