Trouble with installer.

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by red2d2, Oct 25, 2006.

  1. red2d2 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2006
    #1
    Im having trouble with the installer in Os X. Whenever i got to install pretty much anything a message comes up telling me to clear you space. It says it is trying to install to the volume "null" which i guess is wrong but i dunno what to do.

    In the log the error is:
    Unable to load mainNib file (TargetSelect) for plugin bundle NSBundle </Applications/Utilities/Installer.app/Contents/PlugIns/TargetSelect.bundle> (not yet loaded)


    Any help would be greatly appreciated






    :confused: :eek:
     
  2. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
  3. eyeborg macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2006
    #3
    me too!

    Hi,

    I have the exact same problem! The installer won't let me select a destination (it's grayed out in the list of steps it goes through), and tries to install on "(null)", whatever that is. I have more than 20Gb free space, but it tells me I'm out of space... This happens for all package installations. I get the same error log as red 2d2 too.

    I'ts like the 'select destination or target select' part of the Install process is corrupt. How can we fix it?

    Please help!
     
  4. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #4
    Hmm... Tricky... Do you have Boot Camp installed? :)
     
  5. eyeborg macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2006
  6. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #6
    Okay, bugger. Check that the problem's exclusive to your Home folder. Open a new user account in System Preferences and see if you can mount from there. :)
     
  7. Shadow macrumors 68000

    Shadow

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    Location:
    Keele, United Kingdom
    #7
    Before doing that I would fsck/verify&repair the HD, and repair permissions. How-to's on Apple Support.
     
  8. eyeborg macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2006
    #8
    OK, I just tried that, new account, installed from there, but no joy, same problem...

    thanks for taking an interest by the way!
     
  9. eyeborg macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2006
    #9
    OK, I'll have a look on Apple Support for all those procedures.
     
  10. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #10
    Well, you can bypass those methods by starting up in Safe Mode (boot while holding SHIFT). This will check your drive automatically and disable some third party features. Otherwise, just leap straight into fsck.
     
  11. eyeborg macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2006
    #11
    i did all the p-ram etc. still no joy.

    fsck -f gave me this message:
    'invalid node structure (4, 85) volume check failed"

    is that bad? is there anything i can do? i haven't got disc warrior.

    worried now...!

    - grete
     
  12. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #12
    Did you do /sbin/fsck -fy to get it repaired or did it say it can't be repaired? Note the y after the f. :)
     
  13. eyeborg macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2006
    #13
    I just tried /sbin/fsck -fy several times.

    i got the same message as before, invalid node structure etc...

    :(
     
  14. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #14
    I think you might need to get your hands on a copy of Disc Warrior or something similar. In the meantime, you can try starting from the OSX discs and using the bundled version of Disk Utility to try to repair your drive. It's essentially the same thing but booting from a separate CD/DVD may have more luck. :)
     
  15. eyeborg macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2006
  16. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
  17. SPG.RG macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2006
    #17
    Did anyone who was having this problem solve it? If so--how did you do it? I am asking because I have been having the same problem. I tried some of the things mentioned already and I still have the problem.

    Thank you,

    SPG
     
  18. eyeborg macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2006
    #18
    I got DiskWarrior 4, and it fixed lots of faults which is good. However, Installer still doesn't work, oh well, at least I've got a healthy harddrive now.

    - grete
     
  19. SPG.RG macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2006
    #19
    I found this forum:

    http://forums.appleinsider.com/showthread.php?t=66475

    Where somebody posted:
    "Well, I hacked it to work. Traced the error in the installer log to the TargetSelect.bundle. I replaced it with the same file from another mac, and now everything works smoothly."

    I did what the poster did and it worked except after the Installer announced the installation a success, pressing "Continue" would not advance the program to the "Finish Up" stage (I haven't been able to successfully install for so long I don't even remember what the "Finish Up" stage looks like). I quit the installer anyway and discovered that the installation was indeed successful. I do not know why it wouldn't "finish up", nor what I may have missed out on by not being able to do so. I am running 10.4.8 and the mac that I got the file from was running 10.4.2.

    If anybody thinks what I did was really bad, please let me (and anyone else with this problem who might do what I did) know.

    Also, if anybody knows what happens during the "Finish Up" stage, please let me know.

    SPG
     
  20. eyeborg macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2006
    #20
    interesting! i hope someone out there can enlighten us here...

    - grete
     
  21. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #21
    Depending on the installer, I think the last couple of operations in Tiger involve updating prebindings (if applicable... this is something that used to be on the "to do" list in Panther but is essentially unnecessary in Tiger because it was wrapped into installations) and finalizing the receipt. But I'm not 100% sure about that.

    Regarding the targetselect.bundle, it seems to be located inside the installer.app... and...suspicious... it contains localized versions.

    Did anyone who had trouble in this thread by any chance use Monolingual or DeLocalizer?
     
  22. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #22
    I've encountered this from time to time typically with older installers on newer hardware/OS. The short-term fix is to go "back" and then "forward" within the installer and the correct volumes should appear.
     

Share This Page