TruBlueEnviroment process

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by beige matchbox, Jul 2, 2005.

  1. beige matchbox macrumors 6502a

    beige matchbox

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Location:
    Oxfordshire, UK
    #1
    Hay, been finding things really choppy on my powerbook, upon looking at activity moniter there was a process called TruBlueEnviroment, it was using 80-90% CPU time

    What is it? as i haven't been able to find much info on it :confused:


    I tried a normal quit process and that did nothing, i then tried a force quit, seems fine now
     
  2. iindigo macrumors 6502a

    iindigo

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #2
    In a nutshell this process is Classic mode, which runs Mac OS 9 on top of OS X so you can run Classic (pre-OS X) programs. To stop Classic just go to System Preferences and click Classic.
     
  3. beige matchbox thread starter macrumors 6502a

    beige matchbox

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Location:
    Oxfordshire, UK
    #3
    I see

    Done some more playing, and there definitely seems to be some kind of problem with leaving classic open for a long time, started classic back up and trublue is using less than 3%, and with simcity 2k running around 30%, quit simcity and it goes back down to 3%

    I'll see what happens after it's been running for a day or 2 :)


    Thanks
     
  4. Noiseboy macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2002
    Location:
    Lurking nearby.
    #4
    Mine too

    I was just looking to post the same question as you. Since I upgraded to Tiger a few days ago TruBlue also suddenly starts using 95% of the cpu and the fan comes on loud.
    Did you just move to Tiger as well? If so this must be related.
     
  5. beige matchbox thread starter macrumors 6502a

    beige matchbox

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Location:
    Oxfordshire, UK
    #5
    I'm running tiger on my powerbook, came pre installed

    I also have tiger on my iMac, but no OS9 system folder

    Nor have i had one on there since 10.2, i don't remember classic, or anything else for that matter, using up pretty much all the cpu time

    It would certainly seem to be a tiger/classic issue, but i'm guessing it's not a very big problem, and there can't be that many people these days running into it, so it wont be a high on apples list.
     

Share This Page