Trying to Copy Internal Hard Drive Contents to a Replacement Internal Drive

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Dmpacker, Oct 15, 2006.

  1. Dmpacker macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Location:
    NYC
  2. telecomm macrumors 65816

    telecomm

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Location:
    Rome
  3. disconap macrumors 68000

    disconap

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #3
    I am confused by this thread. But if you're saying you are buying a replacement drive and want everything you have now copied exactly to the new drive, I suggest Carbon Copy Cloner (google it, it's a great program).
     
  4. Dmpacker thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Location:
    NYC
    #4
    not to be rude :rolleyes: , but how else would I have both drives connected at once?
    the issue is that it won't allow me to copy everything to create an identical/bootable drive.
     
  5. Dmpacker thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Location:
    NYC
    #5
    Thanks!


    Thanks DiscoNap, exactly what I was looking for!
     
  6. telecomm macrumors 65816

    telecomm

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Location:
    Rome
    #6
    Uhhh... it wasn't exactly clear from your post what level of help you needed. (You may not even have needed this, since you could have been changing drives in your G5 :rolleyes: .)

    disconap is just a better guesser than I am. :D
     

Share This Page