Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Xacent

macrumors member
Original poster
Nov 14, 2003
Canada
I'm trying to decide whether or not to go with a 15" 1.25 GHz powerbook or the 17" 1.33 GHz powerbook. I'm looking at the stock setup in both so essentially the machines are identical except for the clock speed.

Originally I wanted a 15" but the store I was planning on buying from says they are on back order and delivery date with the superdrive is anyone's guess. Furthermore the 17" at this place is in stock and the same price as a 15" at other stores in town.

So given the choice between a 15" and 17" at the same price what is the better choice. I'm a student and I plan on taking the PB to the lab on a daily basis.

Any thoughts or suggestions are welcome.

Powerbook G5

macrumors 68040
Jun 23, 2003
St Augustine, FL
If you are going to be taking it with you back and forth, just keep in mind the size of the 17", it's a real beast. I'd love that kind of screen space, but the 15" to me is just the sweet spot.

John Manjiro

macrumors newbie
Nov 4, 2003
Sapporo
I'm going with 17"

I'm looking for a new machine before I start med school next year. I carry my current Dell laptop around with me every day to and from my job, by foot, bike, or car, and plan on doing the same next year. I've decided on the 17" for several reasons.

With regard to speed-related specs, more important to me than clock speed is the fact the RAM comes on one DIMM. I plan on upgrading to 1 GB but not with Apple memory. It costs $90 dollars to make this upgrade on the 15". Not a dealbreaker, but it closes the price gap slightly.