Trying to decide on iBook or Powerbook

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by buzlink, Apr 9, 2004.

1. buzlink macrumors member

I've been debating an iBook or Powerbook for a good 6 months now.
    Your site states that the iBook is at the end of its production run.
    Powerbook is a tad out of my price range.

I'm wanting one of the two as a desktop machine and portable enough so I can take it on campus and do work, and possibly take notes with.

What is the better option to go with?
    What is the best screen size?
    When will new iBooks be coming out, and will they be a diffrent design or will the stick with the current white outer shell?

If I go with customizing one of the two, what are the best options to add on?

Thanks

2. yoda13 macrumors 65816

yoda13

If you were going to customize, I would go with Bluetooth and Airport Extreme, as well as a bigger hard drive. You can get these on the iBook and not spend more than you would on a fairly stock powerbook. The only way I would get a powerbook for what you are going to do is if you feel you might want to have a superdrive built in to your laptop, if that is the case, then the powerbook is the only way to go.

3. brhmac macrumors regular

Go with the iBook

Hi,

I faced the same decision -- Powerbook or iBook. I went with the iBook - the 12-inch G4 - because it does everything I need it to and because I could fully load it out (60 gb hard drive, 640 mb ram, Airport Extreme, Bluetooth) for less than the starting price of the Powerbook.

The 12-inch form factor is tremendous. 1024x768 screen resolution leaves plenty of real estate for routine tasks, yet the machine is light and very portable. MacWorld rates the 12-inch as its pick of the iBooks.