trying to organize iPhoto folder

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by downingp, Nov 24, 2006.

1. downingp macrumors 6502a

I am fairly new to a mac and have put my pictures from my windows machine into the iphoto library. I am not sure I like the way iphoto groups my photos. I have everything stored under my "pictures" folder. I then I have data folder with pictures in it, an original folder with pictures in it, and then a modified folder with pictures in it. I understand why the modified picture folder is there, but what is the data folder there for? I also have a bunch of .data and .iphoto icons scattered throughout, do I need those?
    Another question I have is when I import new pictures from my camera it puts the pictures in a new "roll number" folder unless I name it specifically. What if I want to combine it with another folder later?

Sorry if I am unclear about things I will try and clarify if needed.

2. MacBoobsPro macrumors 603

MacBoobsPro

Just let iPhoto manage your folder. You manage your photos in iPhoto. Thats how its supposed to work. If you mess with the files in the folder you risk breaking iPhoto.

It works exactly the same as iTunes but with images.

3. downingp thread starter macrumors 6502a

I have my itunes folder set up exactly how I want it; no extra folders, just artist folder/artist album etc. I guess I just like to be organized and whenever I open my pictures folder I see an unorganized mess.

4. thewhitehart macrumors 6502a

thewhitehart

Yeah, it takes some getting used to. I had a hard time getting used to the concept as well - of not organizing by files in folders, but by adding keywords and albums for my photos, all managed from within iPhoto. Once you get used to it, it's a far better system.