Trying to REPAIR DISK...

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by JReynolds, Jan 27, 2011.

  1. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Location:
    Where the Air Force sends me
    #1
    I'm trying to repair disk. I have my upgrade snow leopard disc in and I'm in the disk utility at the start up after holding "c"

    I clicked "repair disk" and it said, "disk utility stopped repairing mac hd, could not unmount disk"

    what does that mean and what do I need to do?

    Thanks
     
  2. macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
  3. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Location:
    Where the Air Force sends me
    #3
    So I read through the provided link and kind of understand the problem.. kinda.

    Why is the disk unmountable and what do I do to make it mountable? Or what do I do in general to fix this?

    What/How do I repair whatever is wrong with my iMac using disk utility and my UPGRADE snow leopard disc (if possible) I'm almost completely lost now...

    Thanks again.
     
  4. macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #4
    Are you running Disk Utility from the DVD, or from your Mac HD?
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Location:
    Where the Air Force sends me
    #5
    From the disc. I put the upgrade disc in and restart, hold c... Should I do something else?

    Thank you
     
  6. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Location:
    Where the Air Force sends me
    #6
    I used DIsk Utility form the Mac HD and clicked verify disk. it said, "the disk needs to be repaired. Start your comp with another disc (such as your Mac OS X install disc) and then use disk util to repair the disk."

    I load up using the disc by holding "c" then start disk utility and try to repair disk. Then it tells me that "Mac HD" is unmountable...?
     
  7. macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #7
    Are you able to boot from your Mac HD?
     
  8. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Location:
    Where the Air Force sends me
    #8
    By "Boot from mac hd" do you mean boot up my computer without the disc? If so yes, the iMac starts up normal and operates pretty normal other than it freezes at random and it's slower.
     
  9. macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #9
    Try booting normally, without the DVD, then shut down. After you shut down, try the repair again, using the DVD, as you did before. See if it works.
     
  10. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Location:
    Where the Air Force sends me
    #10
    Will do, I'll let you know what happens.

    Thank you for helping.
     
  11. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Location:
    Where the Air Force sends me
    #11
    New Problem

    When I put the upgrade disc in the iMac it ejects it automatically. I've tried restarting, tried shutting down and starting up fresh and it still ejects it.

    I put in a burnt DVD and the iMac has no trouble spinning up and starting it...

    Any idea why it keeps ejecting the upgrade disc, and only the upgrade disc?
     
  12. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Location:
    Where the Air Force sends me
    #12
    I restarted the iMac and held the option key. Once the startup manager popped up I inserted the upgrade disc and the iMac still spit it out.

    Then I put in the burnt dvd and it stayed in... I clicked on the mac hd and started the iMac and the dvd loads fine, but the upgrade disc still auto ejects in less than 5 seconds.

    Best option may be to make the long drive to the Apple Store... Or do you think you can still help?
     
  13. macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #13
    That may be your best bet, unless someone has another idea.
     
  14. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Location:
    Where the Air Force sends me
    #14
    Well, thanks for all your help. I'll wait around for a few other replies before I make the appt.

    Thanks again
     
  15. macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #15
    I doubt the burnt DVD is bootable, so that’s why it doesn’t spit it out. Do you have another bootable disk?
     
  16. macrumors 6502

    walterwhite

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Location:
    South Central PA
    #16
    it sounds like either a bad HD or a bad SATA cable... depending on the iMac model... they have a SATA cable issue. Your issue is one I have dealt with at the Genius bar many times and it is 50/50 on which it might be.
     
  17. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Location:
    Where the Air Force sends me
    #17
    I don't. I was an idiot and when I sold my old macbook I gave them the snow leopard install disc. :mad:

    The model identifier is iMac7,1. So would that put me in the time frame for these issues?

    If it is a HD or SATA cable issue, how much does Apple charge for the fix?
     
  18. macrumors 6502

    walterwhite

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Location:
    South Central PA
    #18
    if it is under APP (Apple Care Protection Plan) its free... if not it would be $39 labor and the part (HD or Cable) the HD is overpriced at like 200-300$ and the cable is relatively cheap at like 25$. You have to have them look at it physically. They can also try to Run Apple Service Diagnostic to better figure it out. I believe yours (2.0, 20" iMac) is in that realm of bad cables.... it always seemed like we were working on those at my store for that reason in particular
     
  19. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Location:
    Where the Air Force sends me
    #19
    Little spendy for this guy...

    Thanks for all your help. I guess I'll make an appt with Apple.
     
  20. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Location:
    Where the Air Force sends me
    #20
    So I went through a repair using command s at startup and typed in some stuff. After a few times it said the disk was repaired and all was good. I ran it one more time and it came back with no errors. Less than 10 min later the iMac froze again like usual.

    Seems like what you said is probably correct.

    Thanks
     

Share This Page