Trying to set up a testing server & MySQL Problem

Discussion in 'Web Design and Development' started by mripah, Jul 5, 2013.

  1. mripah
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    #1
    Hello all,

    Just bought a Macbook Air. I'm trying to set up a testing server on it but I'm stuck at a particular step.

    I have apache set up and can reach the Sites folder I created in my home directory.

    http://127.0.0.1/~username/sqrt/

    I have php running as the info.php file I created works.

    My issue is with mysql.

    I downloaded and installed the latest version from mysql.com and installed it. I installed the preference panel. But is there a guide on creating and maintaining a mysql instance from the command line? Every one I see saying to start by typing mysql in terminal, but it tells me that it's not installed. But the preference panel tells me different. Thanks.
     
  2. matpb
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2012
    #2
    Can you try this in the terminal
    Code:
    which mysql
    Your $PATH might not be including your fresh install of MySQL.
    As an example, for my current installation, the bin is in /usr/local/mysql/bin/mysql
     
  3. mripah, Jul 5, 2013
    Last edited: Jul 5, 2013

    mripah
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    #3
    Hmm that command just returns me to the prompt without any information.

    However I see:
    /usr/local/mysql/bin/mysql

    At the same path on my machine.
     
  4. 960design
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2012
    Location:
    Destin, FL
    #4
    Might I recommend MAMP?

    There's nothing wrong with the way you are doing it, after the setup it's rock solid. I just find MAMP too easy NOT to use.
     
  5. eddiedu
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2013
    #5
    Hi,

    I´m not sure what is wrong but in my case i needed to run a script to complete the mysql installation, in the mysql folder i executed this command:
    ./scripts/mysql_install_db

    You can start the MySQL daemon with:
    cd . ; ./bin/mysqld_safe &

    Hope it helps.

    Regards,
    Edu


     
  6. mripah
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    #6
    Well I downloaded Sequel Pro and was able to connect and create a database and a new user, plus grant permissions. (Bare in mind this is all new to me.)

    But I can't connect in Coda2 which is what I'm using for development. Not sure why I can connect in one but not the other. The error I'm getting in Coda is:

    http://db.tt/pOwF8Zim

    I'm trying to connect via MySQL Socket.

    ----------

    I think it's installed and running. It says it's running in the preference panel and when I look at all process, I can see it running happily there.
     
  7. mripah, Jul 5, 2013
    Last edited: Jul 5, 2013

    mripah
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    #7
    Well I figured out how to connect from Coda, I had to connect to /tmp/mysql.sock. Is there a "Hello world" query I can run to make sure I'm connected and it's running?
     
  8. eddiedu
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2013
    #8
    Hi, a simple query to test mysql could be:
    select now();

     

Share This Page