Trying to setup a "production room"...

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by MattG, Nov 17, 2005.

1. MattG macrumors 68040

MattG

I've never done anything like this before. Complete novice...

I've got a (small) production room at the college I work at. It's going to be used to record lectures and instructional information for faculty. I'll have lighting equipment, two Canon GL-1's, a projector, etc in there for people to use.

The room NEXT to it is a little production booth with one-way glass looking into the production room. That's where my Macs are, plus a mixing board and a bunch of other toys.

My question is (and I know...really vague)...how do I go about setting all this up? Specifically, I've got the two video cameras in the production room, and I'm assuming I want to somehow patch those into the computers in the room next door directly, patch the mixer into the computer directly, and input all of this into Final Cut, live, as it's happening. Right? Or not? How do other people do it?

:confused:

If I haven't given enough information, let me know, I'd be happy to explain further. Any advice is appreciated!

2. 2jaded2care macrumors 6502

Well, I'll tell you how we do it where I work. Maybe not the best way, but it seems to work OK.

We have 1 unmanned camera on the (seated, in a non-rolling, non-reclining chair) presenter. We use cheap scan converters to take laptop PPT slides and a document camera feed (for handwritten notes), both VGA, to NTSC.

Haven't used a projector, they can be noisy. Plus, if you do, I would think using daylight color temp light fixtures (on the presenter only, not the screen or it will wash out) would be better instead of tungsten; I think the projectors will be daylight or higher Kelvin. (Someone will correct me if I'm wrong.)

We feed those into a switcher, record to DV (and VHS as backup). Later capture the tape and encode or burn to DVD as required.