TRYING to share AirPort Extreme with Windows XP (but failing)

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by Gary King, Jun 14, 2005.

  1. Gary King macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2004
    #1
    Hello all,

    I have had no real success with the situation that I am currently in.

    I have the following:
    • Mac with Airport Extreme
    • Windows XP wired to the Mac via Ethernet (no wireless)

    What I wish to do is to give my WinXP internet capabilities.

    What I have done so far is I have gone to the 'Sharing' settings in Mac, and checkmarked the 'Share your connection from built-in ethernet to computers using built-in ethernet.' and I have connected the two computers, via ethernet.

    Now, what happens is that the WinXP at least notices the networked computer, but that's about it. The Mac still does not show up in the 'Home' workgroup that I have setup, nor does it share the internet connection.

    Does anyone have any suggestions as to what I should do? I have searched and searched for an answer as well, but to no avail.

    Thanks in advance! :)
     
  2. ITASOR macrumors 601

    ITASOR

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Location:
    Oneida, NY
    #2
    Try enabling Windows Sharing in Prefs. That's all I can think of. Mine worked without doing anything except enabling that from what I remember.
     
  3. Gary King thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2004
    #3
    Windows Sharing in the Mac? Already done that, no luck.
     
  4. Gary King thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2004
  5. jaw04005 macrumors 601

    jaw04005

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2003
    Location:
    AR
    #5
    Mac OS X defaults to the "WORKGROUP" domain by default. You need to go into Control Panel -> System Properties and make sure your XP machine is on the "WORKGROUP" domain instead of the MSHOME domain.

    Try that and post back.
     
  6. jaw04005 macrumors 601

    jaw04005

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2003
    Location:
    AR
    #6
    It is my understanding that you are not connecting your XP machine through a router? Are you using a crossover ethernet cable connected directly to the Mac?

    I don't believe the Mac mini has an auto-sensing ethernet port. If your PC does not support auto-sensing ethernet, you need to purchase a crossover ethernet cable.
     
  7. Gary King thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2004
  8. ITASOR macrumors 601

    ITASOR

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Location:
    Oneida, NY

Share This Page