Turn off 3g on iphone 5?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by weezerr, Sep 17, 2012.

  1. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    #1
    I live in an area without AT&T LTE coverage. Currently with my iphone 4, I get better battery life and reception just staying on the Edge bandwidth. If I need data I will flip on 3g if needed. While I know you can disable LTE, I have seen no mention of being able to turn off 3g/"4g" and just use the edge network. Is this possible?
     
  2. macrumors G4

    Small White Car

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Location:
    Washington DC
    #2
    We don't know for sure yet, but based on past experience my guess is that there will be a "LTE On/Off" switch and a "Cellular Data "On/Off" switch.

    So, basically, no, I don't think you'll get what you're asking for.

    But we'll have to wait for Friday to know for sure.
     
  3. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2007
    #3
    like the above poster said, there is no way to know tip friday. what i do though, is turn off my cellular data if I'm in a wifi area (work)

    the only thing i would miss at that point would be a mms from a non iPhone user.
     
  4. macrumors regular

    Chopstick217

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Location:
    Huntington Beach, CA
    #4
    If not, hopefully it will be made available by Jailbreaking the phone. I know on my iPhone 4S I can use sbsettings to turn off 3g, forcing the phone into edge.
     
  5. macrumors Nehalem

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #5
    Same here.
    If you JB you could.
    Stock I doubt they will let you turn off 3G.
    They dont want people still using 2G and they're slowly outphasing it.
    Pretty soon they will completelly kill it and make people with old 2G cellphones upgrade.
     
  6. macrumors regular

    hekokimushi

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    #6
    this setting is en/disabled by your carrier.

    i am in HKG. SMT does not have disable 3G as an option.
    my cuz's CSL does have disable 3G at the same location as LTE. (CSL doesn't have LTE support for iP5 yet)
     
  7. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2011
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #7
    If you don't mind me asking, does SmarTone have LTE for prepaid? Or only plan?
     
  8. macrumors regular

    hekokimushi

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    #8
    i don't know. speak to one of "them".
    i don't see why LTE is only limited to monthly.
     
  9. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2012
    #9
    I can :)
     

    Attached Files:

  10. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2011
    Location:
    Sweden
    #10
    But then again you don't have a 4G/LTE connection to your provider.
     

Share This Page