Turn off a core

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by The Senator, Apr 1, 2006.

  1. The Senator macrumors regular

    The Senator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Location:
    Virginia
    #1
    how do you turn off one of the cores on the mbp???
     
  2. cairo macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    #3
    Is it from the developer tools perhaps? I have a Processor icon in my System Preferences on my G5 which I can disable a processor...
     
  3. opuscroakus macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2001
    #4
    Just curious, why would you want to turn off a core? Is it for battery reasons?
     
  4. The Senator thread starter macrumors regular

    The Senator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Location:
    Virginia
  5. The Senator thread starter macrumors regular

    The Senator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Location:
    Virginia
    #6
    i dont see a processer icon in my preferences
     
  6. iGary Guest

    iGary

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Location:
    Randy's House
    #7
    I don't even think you can with the CHUD tools...
     
  7. EricNau Moderator emeritus

    EricNau

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #8
    I'm not sure if it is in option on the intel models, but try going to System Preferences > Energy Saver > Options > Processor Performance.

    If you set it for Low, I'm not sure it would be turning a core off per se, but I think it would help the heat and battery issues.
     
  8. ekenny macrumors regular

    ekenny

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Location:
    New York
    #9

    Attached Files:

  9. iGary Guest

    iGary

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Location:
    Randy's House
    #10
    I stand corrected. :D
     
  10. The Senator thread starter macrumors regular

    The Senator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Location:
    Virginia
    #11
  11. laidbackliam macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
  12. The Senator thread starter macrumors regular

    The Senator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Location:
    Virginia
  13. ekenny macrumors regular

    ekenny

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Location:
    New York
    #14
    Just go into System Preferences > Processor
     

    Attached Files:

  14. The Senator thread starter macrumors regular

    The Senator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Location:
    Virginia
  15. jefhatfield Retired

    jefhatfield

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2000
    #16
    personally, from first my dad's dual core imac, and now a friends' dual core imac...i thus want to throw both cores into the pit of hell and get a working, reliable G5 in there

    i would rather get a pc if it has anything to do with intel ;)
     
  16. w00t951 macrumors 68000

    w00t951

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Location:
    116th & Broadway
    #17
    ...

    So wait... is the CHUD developer tools the package that I need to download? The one that takes like an hour to download?
     
  17. madog macrumors 65816

    madog

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2004
    Location:
    Korova Milkbar
    #18
    Anyone have a link to an info page about CHUD or what features it has and it's system requirements? (like do you need X11 installed, or just the base system).

    Checked out VT/MU but there isn't much info there other than it works on PPC/Intel, and googled to Apple developer tools page but it has no mention of CHUD, and couldn't find the page that they have that links to the download, just the download itself.


    Anyone else care to elaborate on this a bit more, or link a site that can please? I'm suddenly very interested in this.
     
  18. w00t951 macrumors 68000

    w00t951

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Location:
    116th & Broadway
    #19
    Site Link

    What you do is just go to Google and type in 'CHUD tools' and click on the first Apple link there is. Make a free account, and then download it. t should take about an hour to download on cable internet.
     
  19. gnasher729 macrumors P6

    gnasher729

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2005
    #20
    Turning off a core won't help you with that. If it did, then MacOS X would do that already.
     

Share This Page