Turning off the primary display on a macbook

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by vgoklani, Nov 16, 2006.

  1. vgoklani macrumors regular

    vgoklani

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2004
    #1
    Hi,

    I plan to use an external display most of the time with my Core2 Macbook - and I would like to conserve my 64MB of video ram. So how do I turn off the primary display?
     
  2. jsw Moderator emeritus

    jsw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Andover, MA
    #2
    If it's anything like the MBP, just close the lid (with the external display connected).
     
  3. vgoklani thread starter macrumors regular

    vgoklani

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2004
  4. jsw Moderator emeritus

    jsw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Andover, MA
    #4
    AFAIK, there's no way to turn off the primary display with the lid open, but I could be wrong (and likely am).

    But still... an external KB isn't all that expensive and it's much easier to use if you're going with an external display.

    Edit: wait, I think there is a way...

    Edit: nope, not what i was thinking. Sorry!
     
  5. Chundles macrumors G4

    Chundles

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    #5
    To use a MacBook (or MacBook Pro for that matter) with the video outputting to only the primary display and all the VRAM dedicated to that external display you need to:

    1. With your MacBook on, ensure that the display is plugged in and working, you are connected to power and have a USB keyboard and mouse attached (or have enabled bluetooth devices to wake the computer).
    then,

    2. Close the lid, wait for the MacBook to sleep.

    3. Tap a key or click a mouse button to wake the system up - the external display will now have all available VRAM dedicated to it.
     
  6. thworple macrumors 6502

    thworple

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2005
    Location:
    Sussex, England
    #6
    You can just use a USB mouse (or Bluetooth device as Chundles stated) to wake the computer while its closed. This will output to the external display only. If you then open the laptop, you should be able to use the keyboard without the display showing up on the MB's screen.

    This works with the Powerbook, so I assume its still the same for the newer MBs and MBPs.
     
  7. jsw Moderator emeritus

    jsw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Andover, MA
    #7
    It works with the MBPs.

    Still, if you're using an external display and have the MB open just to use the keyboard, isn't that rather awkward, esp. in terms of the blank MB screen blocking the external display?
     
  8. thworple macrumors 6502

    thworple

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2005
    Location:
    Sussex, England
    #8
    Oh I wholly agree with you, but the Op did say they wanted to use the keyboard on the MB. :rolleyes:
     
  9. jsw Moderator emeritus

    jsw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Andover, MA
    #9
    Yeah, sorry - I meant to make it obvious that I was directing my question to the OP. :eek:
     
  10. vgoklani thread starter macrumors regular

    vgoklani

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2004
    #10
    I agree, it is awkward - but I don't like the Apple keyboards (I miss the old IBM PS/2 clicky keyboards)
     
  11. Area51Tazz macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Location:
    Frisco, TX
    #11
    I have a co-worker who still uses one of those...it's been through like 10 machines at this point :p
     
  12. dimonay macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    #12
    Can't you just turn the backlighting off? Is that not good enough?

    I mean, that's what I do...
     
  13. Area51Tazz macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Location:
    Frisco, TX
    #13
    I need to be able to display full-screen quicktime videos on the external display...the external keyboard/mouse thing isn't working for me :(
     
  14. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #14
    I believe is an option in the display settings to allow external only.
     
  15. Area51Tazz macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Location:
    Frisco, TX
    #15
    I couldn't find it :(
     
  16. paenguin macrumors member

    paenguin

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Location:
    behind Torre Two
    #16
    how about completely having the brightness off :D
    that's the only way i can get the screen to be off.. LOL
     

Share This Page