Two AirPort Networks

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by ColoJohnBoy, Sep 12, 2003.

  1. macrumors 65816

    ColoJohnBoy

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    Location:
    Denver, Colorado
    #1
    I've been having trouble with my AirPort network. Mine is always on, but somebody else in my building has a Wi-Fi network, and whenever they switch it on, mine is interrupted, and I'm forced to turn off AirPort, put my computer to sleep, wait, and then wake up and restart. I have my preferences set to join a specific network, and I'm not seeing any options that will prevent this from happening. Any ideas?
     
  2. TEG
    macrumors 604

    TEG

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Location:
    Langley, Washington
    #2
    Have you tried changing the Channel of your Airport? Or WEP Encription?

    TEG
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 65816

    ColoJohnBoy

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    Location:
    Denver, Colorado
    #3
    I haven't done that yet, mainly because I'm not sure how. :D Can you give me some instructions, or where I might find info? I checked Help but it's very vague and doesn't refer to this problem specifically.
     
  4. macrumors 68040

    mactastic

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2003
    Location:
    Colly-fornia
    #4
    Open your Airport Admin utility. Click on Configure when your base station shows up. Then click Show All. Under the Airport tab, you should see a drop down menu that says Channel. Change it to any other channel than the one you are on.

    See if that helps. I had to change mine because of my cordless phone. Every time it would ring my Airport would go out, but I changed the channel, and it works perfectly now.
     
  5. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2003
    #5
    Channel changing helps with signal interference, but you may have a bridging problem. All the airports have a network bridge built in (to help setup quickly a large wireless grid.) It may be trying to bridge to the other Airport base station. Have you checked with the other owner of the other wifi network if they are experiencing similar problems?
     

Share This Page