Two dictionaries at once?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by jamesmcd, Mar 25, 2007.

  1. jamesmcd macrumors 6502a

    jamesmcd

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Location:
    Wellington, New Zealand
    #1
    Hi all,

    I frequently write documents in multiple languages, and I am wondering if there is a way to use two dictionaries at the same time, so that I don't get red lines under half of my work.

    Perhaps I could combine two dictionaries into one so that it thinks it's the same language. No idea how to do this though.

    It seems simple, but it drives me crazy.

    Any help appreciated.

    James
     
  2. n-abounds macrumors 6502a

    n-abounds

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
  3. jamesmcd thread starter macrumors 6502a

    jamesmcd

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Location:
    Wellington, New Zealand
  4. Vinnie_vw macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2005
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    #4
    Apple's Operating System supports multilingual spell-checking, thus all cocoa-applications. like Pages, etc., also. Just go to the Menubar > Edit > Spelling > Spelling > Dictionary > select 'multilingual.' Works pretty well.
     
  5. jamesmcd thread starter macrumors 6502a

    jamesmcd

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Location:
    Wellington, New Zealand
    #5
    Ah had a look and found the 'all' option. Excellent.
     
  6. rspeaker macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2006
    #6
    When I do this in Pages, I don't have a "Dictionary" option... ideas?
     
  7. jamesmcd thread starter macrumors 6502a

    jamesmcd

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Location:
    Wellington, New Zealand
    #7
    In Pages, open up the Inspector, click on the 'T' tab, then on 'more'.

    There you will have a drop down menu with 'English' set. Open that up, and at the top you have 'all'.
     
  8. Vinnie_vw macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2005
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    #8
    Weird, so you guys have it called 'all' and mine is called 'multilingual?' I wonder if I have a different version of OSX?
     
  9. jamesmcd thread starter macrumors 6502a

    jamesmcd

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Location:
    Wellington, New Zealand
    #9
    Well my OS is in German and it simply said 'alle'. Maybe the German translator got lazy :cool:
     
  10. CaptainHaddock macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2004
    Location:
    Nagoya, Japan
    #10
    Good thread. :)

    I wish you could turn on multiple dictionaries or all dictionaries system-wide though, instead of just in Pages.
     
  11. jamesmcd thread starter macrumors 6502a

    jamesmcd

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Location:
    Wellington, New Zealand
    #11
    Good for those 'elite' that write in multiple languages :D

    Oh how I wish I knew I could have used the 'all' feature last september when I was writing a 30 page assignment in French, German and English...

    The time wasted... :(
     

Share This Page