Two gpu's on 3,1

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by FroColin, Feb 7, 2011.

  1. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    #1
    Okay, I have a very good understanding of computers and mac pro's and everything but I really don't know squat about gpu's. So I have some crappy ATI Radeon HD 2600. It is crap. The question is.... (This is probably a really stupid question) if I bought a 5770 or a 5870 could I put that in AS WELL? and get up to four monitors? I really want three monitors and it would be awesome if I could get a new gpu and also use my old one....
    This is probably really a dumb question but I'm not even sure where to look to find the answer so I decided to ask here.
    Thanks in advance
     
  2. macrumors 601

    alust2013

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Location:
    On the fence
    #2
    You should be able to do that. I'm not sure if the 2600 is a double wide card, but if not, you may need to move it and put the 5770 or 5870 in the double wide slot.
     
  3. macrumors 6502

    phairphan

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2005
    Location:
    Reject Beach
    #3
  4. macrumors 68040

    Cindori

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Sweden
    #4
    if none of your displays are DP, get a 5770 and run 2 dvi monitors off it


    else, if u have DP displays, get 5870 and sell your 2600. most powerful alternative, and allows triple monitor setup
     
  5. macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #5

    The 5770 allows triple monitor setups as well. The output constraints are identical for 5770 and 5870.
     
  6. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    #6
    Hmmmm I read somewhere that you couldn't run three displays off either card on a 3,1 mac pro. Was that wrong?

    Wait... This doesn't make sense to me. Sorry. Why can't I get a DP to DVI adaptor and use three monitors with the 5870 (Or the 5770 for that matter as they have the same outputs).
    And if I did use the 5870 (Or 5770) for three monitors would that give me better performance then if I used two displays on the 5870 and one on my 2600?
    Again thanks and sorry for such noobish questions
     
  7. macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #7
    Because:

    However, in case that you have displays smaller than 2560x1440, you'd only need active single link miniDP - DVI (check amazon) adapters.

    Performance wise, triple displays on a single card are not a problem unless you need all the available VRAM for heavy graphic applications.
     
  8. macrumors 68040

    Cindori

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Sweden
    #8
    ofc, but he probably wants a good performance gpu.
     
  9. macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #9
    I wouldn't say that the 5770 isn't under performing.
    It's a solid desktop card which suffices the vast majority of applications. Apparently, gaming isn't really what the 5770 is made for, but who games anyway? :D

    Personally, I wouldn't waste $400 for a 5870 if my only needs are word processing and stuff like that.
     
  10. Bwa
    macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Location:
    Boston & San Jose
    #10
    I am running a triple-head 5770 in a 2008 MacPro (3,1) along with a second card with 2 heads. Works fine. I don't know if the $100 adapter is required all the time, but I am using it on two of the displays and the $30 adapter on another display.
     
  11. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #11
    You can add the 5770 and still use up to three of the 2600s. The 1st slot is a double wide slot, so installing the 5770 there, or any other double wide card still leaves all three remaining PCI slots available. If you want to add two new (double wide) cards, then you do lose a PCI slot, but you'd still have two remaining for your two 2600s.

    You only need the active DP adapter if you're running dual-link DVI. If you're not running a 30" monitor or its equivalent, then a passive link adapter works fine. I've seen a lot of discussion about three monitors being pretty unstable with the 5770, even beyond Apple's technical notes, so I'd probably avoid that setup unless you really have to use it for some reason. With a 5770 and two 2600s, I can't see how you would...
     
  12. macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #12
    That's only halfway correct.
    You only need Apple's active dual link DP if you have to run dual-link monitors such as 2560x1440 or 2560x1600.
    If you run a triple screen setup with three DVI monitors, two of which do not require dual-link DVI, you need active single link DP adapters.
    For a dual screen setup with a single link screen connected to the outer most display port, the passive single link adapter Apple sells works just fine.
     

Share This Page