two ipods on one computer

Discussion in 'iPod' started by thecore, Apr 10, 2006.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    #1
    my oldest son has last years ipod on his computer. My other son just recieved a new ipod. when he goes to load the cd it tells him that he can not. WHY?
     
  2. macrumors 603

    gauchogolfer

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Location:
    American Riviera
    #2
    Just to clarify a few points:

    When you say 'load the cd' what exactly do you mean? Move music from CD to the iPod, install iPod software that came with the new one, etc.

    Also, I don't think it matters, but is the computer running Windows or OS X?

    This might help get you a quicker response here.
     
  3. macrumors 6502a

    Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2005
    Location:
    far away
    #3
    It should work actually. I do it all the time.

    What kind of iPods? What exactly do the error messages look like?
     
  4. Moderator emeritus

    Mitthrawnuruodo

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
  5. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    #5
    The ipod we just got is the video one and the one we got last year is not. Is there a difference in the cd's you have to load that come with the ipods?
     
  6. macrumors 603

    gauchogolfer

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Location:
    American Riviera
    #6
    The short answer is yes, there is a difference.

    The new one should be boxed with an installation disc, after running that you should be fine. I'm a bit surprised that iTunes wouldn't recognize the new one on its own; are you using the most up-to-date version of iTunes? If not, I suggest updating to the most recent version if possible. Really, though, everything you need to work should be in the box.

    OT: Mitthrawnuruodo, isn't a bit late for we Europeans to be up? :rolleyes:
     
  7. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    #7
    I think we have figured out why it would not take the cd. Can I use the program that the older one is using or do I need to load its own cd?
     
  8. macrumors 603

    gauchogolfer

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Location:
    American Riviera
    #8

    I would use the installation cd that came with your new iPod. The older one will not have the correct drivers for you.
     
  9. Moderator emeritus

    Mitthrawnuruodo

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    #9
    11:30 PM, wasn't too late... now it's just over midnight... and time for bed... soon, anyway... ;)

    Feeble attempt to get on topic again: Always keep iTunes and the iPods up-to-date with the latest software and you should be fine... :)
     
  10. macrumors 68000

    student_trap

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2005
    Location:
    'Ol Smokey, UK
    #10
    both ipods should run using the same itunes program (i have 6 ipods that connect to mine without any problems).

    However, if you haven't updated to the latest version of itunes, you may not have all of the correct drivers needed to use the new ipod to its full potential.
     
  11. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2006
    Location:
    Jacksonville Beach
    #11
    Keeping up to date. Thats the problem right there. Everything is always out of date. :)
     
  12. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2006
    #12
    use of installation CD

    Not sure if this is a dumb question... but here it is: I had downloaded iTunes before getting an iPod in order to rip my CDs into a library. Now that I purchased the iPod, is it actually necessary to use the installation CD? Does that contain anything I don't already have in the latest version of iTunes that I downloaded?
     
  13. macrumors 68020

    ChrisBrightwell

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Location:
    Huntsville, AL
    #13
    No. Just make sure your iTunes version is the latest.
     
  14. macrumors 68000

    calebjohnston

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    #14
    Who the hell has 6 iPods? Are you kidding me?
     
  15. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    #15
    I do. Family of 5.
     
  16. macrumors 68040

    gadgetgirl85

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    Location:
    Australia
    #16
    I will have 3 next week if that counts :p
     
  17. macrumors G3

    Counterfit

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Location:
    sitting on your shoulder
    #17
    Yes it will. Apple includes the latest drivers with every version of iTunes. Chances are if you updated to the latest version when it came out, it has the drivers you need.
     
  18. macrumors 68000

    student_trap

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2005
    Location:
    'Ol Smokey, UK
    #18
    its not as bad as it sounds, i have 2 3G's, a 4G and a shuffle, and my little sister has no computer so uses mine for syncing, along with my girlfriend.
     

Share This Page