two user accounts at the same time?

Discussion in 'OS X' started by durija, Aug 30, 2008.

  1. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle
    #1
    I want to be able to login to two user accounts at the same time, so essentially using two screens, one for reach account. It is so I can access the same game online as two diferent users at the same time. Is this possible?
     
  2. macrumors 601

    brand

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #2
    Mac OS X is not a multi-user operating system.
     
  3. macrumors G3

    QuarterSwede

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO
    #3
    OS X is most certainly a multi-user OS. However, I don't think you can run two different user accounts at the same time. I could be wrong though.
     
  4. macrumors 601

    brand

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #4
    Did I say that OS X could not have multiple user accounts? No I didn't. On a true multi-user OS you would be able to have multiple users logged in and working at the same time. Sure you can have multiple users SSH into OS X but they don't have a GUI environment to work in. So for what the OP wants OS X is not a multi-user OS.

    Wikipedia - Multi-user
     
  5. macrumors 68000

    yoyo5280

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2007
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia & Bay Area
    #5
    You cant have two user accounts running at the same time and work on them both at the same time

    HOWEVER you can be logged onto multiple accounts and use fast user switching to log in
     
  6. macrumors 65832

    AppleNewton

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2007
    Location:
    1 Finite Place
    #6
    Well specifically speaking, No. One user using the OS and resources at once.

    However, when doing remote VNC work and testing various VNC clients on my macs, i was able to sign into Account1 via the remote computer then, on the client end computer Fast-User-Switch to a different Account2 and still access and run applications on Account1 while Account2 was accessing programs and using the system too.

    Not sure how exactly that works, but i guess its possible in a remote environment.
     
  7. macrumors G3

    QuarterSwede

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO
    #7
    Ahh, wasn't aware that a term existed for that.
     
  8. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle
    #8
    Simultaneous users

    Can this be done? Have two users on screen at the same time, and alternate easily between the two?

    No, having a VM with Windows will not cut it.

    Switching users will not cut it.

    I really want both users on screen at the same time. I know it's probably not possible, but I have to ask.
     
  9. Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #9
    No. OSX cannot support two simultaneous windowed users. It can happily support multi-user command line access over ssh...
     
  10. Moderator emeritus

    EricNau

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #10
    I think the closest you'll get is Fast User Switching, but even then both users aren't visible concurrently.
     
  11. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle
    #11
    Okay, I just had another idea. I have VMWare Fusion. What about installing OS X in a VM? Could I run two instances, therefore two accounts that way?
     
  12. Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #12
    You can only run the server version of OSX in a virtualisation application. What, exactly, is wrong with fast user switching?

    Edit to add: you need a separate license for every extra copy of OSX Server you run in virtualisation as well.
     
  13. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle
    #13
    The trick is that I want to play a game of sorts as two users at the same time. Fast user switching is not fast enough. I (greedily) want it to be almost instantaneous.
     
  14. macrumors 601

    brand

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #14
    You asked this same question a week ago in this forum and was told no. Why wast your time and everyone elses asking the same question again?
     
  15. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle
    #15
    Sometimes asking a question differently, or approaching it yourself differently will yield a better or diferrent result. But ultimately you are correct. I've think I've exhausted all the options and will consider this closed. I'm sorry for taking up your time.
     
  16. Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #16
    Whilst you can't run two copies of the whole environment at once you can start a windowed process as another user. I'm pretty sure this didn't work in 10.4, but I just tried it and it works.

    Open the terminal and type su <otherusername> (and the hit return). You will be asked for the password of the other user. You can the start the application as that user. Remember you have to start the executable, not the .app wrapper. So to start TextEdit you would type /Applications/TextEdit.app/Contents/MacOS/TextEdit

    I have confirmed this works to start TextEdit as my admin user account from my normal account. Interestingly your preference for Graphite or Blue buttons gets respected: my normal user has graphite, my admin user blue. This resulted in TextEdit running with blue buttons on a graphite OSX :)
     
  17. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle
    #17
    That might do it. I'm a complete novice at Terminal, so it might take a little while for me to test this. I know I have to launch a different instance of the app under each user (as I do now with fast user switching—a different copy of the app in each user's folder).

    Thanks for the idea. I love it when people think outside the box.
     
  18. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle
    #18
    update

    It worked! It was a little tricky to figure out the path, but there I was with two windows, one on each monitor with a different instance of the game on each. Another issue resolved.
     
  19. Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #19
    Sweet. Glad you got of working in the end.
     
  20. macrumors G5

    gnasher729

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2005
    #20
    Makes me wonder... So what is that menu doing on my screen with my name on the top, followed by my wife's name? And what is going on if I choose my wife's name in that menu and suddenly I have all different applications running, and when I choose my name it is back to my applications? And these applications are most definitely running; I have on occasion been burning a DVD, left the computer alone, and my wife started using it on her account. The DVD burning application kept on running quite happily.
     
  21. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Location:
    Santa Clara, California, USA
    #21
    I am on two accounts at same time!

    I was on my imac and working via screensharing on macbook , shwitched imac account, but could still controll 1st imac account through macbook!! and the second one as well
     

Share This Page