U2 iPod

Discussion in 'Community' started by jxyama, Oct 27, 2004.

1. jxyama macrumors 68040

jxyama

the main thread is now like 100 pages long, so i was just curious about the reaction of other people more specifically to the U2 iPod.

i've been listening to U2 since HS, almost 15 years ago now, starting with the Joshua Tree before migrating back to Unforgettable Fire then getting back to "present" with Achtung Baby.

personally, U2 is one of those "it" bands... it has appealed, whether you like it or not, to different audience over time. i personally don't like the look of U2 iPod but i do like the idea they are trying to sell. (it is expensive, but i guess it is "limited edition" sort of thing...) i imagine that a lot of young fans, who will be buying iPods, do not know much of U2 before Achtung Baby... some of them possibly not knowing beyond the last album, All that You Can't Leave Behind. so for them to have the chance to listen to great stuff they put out, Joshua Tree and Unforgettable Fire being my personal favorites, but i also like Rattle and Hum (which may be a bit underrated, imo), October and Boy...

i also like the fact iPod commercials have the darkness removed from the shillouette so that you can see the band members... i mean, apple paid those guys quite a sum, right? they might as well make use of their popularity...

what do you guys think?

2. kgarner macrumors 68000

kgarner

I'm still a little undecided on the U2 iPod. I love that it is black, that's really cool. But i can't decide if I like the red scroll wheel. I guess i wouldn't mind having it and the red wheel wouldn't really bother me. But it doesn't really do it for me either.