Ubuntu on Parallels.

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by MRU, Jun 1, 2006.

  1. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #1
    Please can someone give me advice on running Ubuntu on parallels.

    What VM settings to use, how to get airport to work if it can and how to change resolution over 1024x768.

    My first experience of linux isn't going well :)
     
  2. eva01 macrumors 601

    eva01

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Location:
    Gah! Plymouth
    #2
    The airport and airport extreme cards do not work on any Linux distribution that i know of.

    It has not yet been reversed engineered
     
  3. MRU thread starter macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #3
    Thanks. I suspected so but wasn't sure. Oh well looks like I'm gonna have to wait until parallels release parallels tools for linux.

    Ubuntu seems a nice operating system though.
     
  4. Mac_Freak macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    #4
    I got to play with it from live CD and I was happily surprised by it. That brown/orange theme bugs me a little though
     
  5. MRU thread starter macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #5
    Yeah it's classy in a Mr.Hanky way :D
     
  6. danielwsmithee macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2005
    #6
    The resolution limitation under Parallels is caused by the monitor settings used by Ubuntu in the "/etc/var/xorg.conf" file. Under the monitor section change the hsync to accept a much larger range, sorry I don't have the exact numbers I used. Then also add whatever resolutions you would like to the appropriate color depth mode lines i.e. "1680x1050" or "1440x900". Then restart X (If you don't know how to do that rebooting will work).

    As far as the Airport card is concerned if you are running under Parallels workstation you don't need Airport support, as OSX is still running and Parellels desktop emulates a functioning ethernet connection even though you are connected via airport. If you boot into Linux you will not have support for your airport card.
     
  7. MRU thread starter macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #7

    Thanks. Got airport to work by using Host controlled option.
    Resolution however struggling. I open the terminal and tried opening the xorg.conf file but it appeared blank? I'm doing somthing wrong I know. (Such a linux newb :) ) Do you know how to open that file?
     
  8. MRU thread starter macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #8
    OK I got it working

    Screen resolution is now sorted. I was using the wrong terminal command. I forgot to put sudo gedit /etc/...... I was putting sudo gedit etc/......

    So now I have Ubuntu fully working :) It's a nice operating system, no way near as nice as OSX but for FREE and it includes Open Office (damn close to microsoft office) all FREE it's a great thing indeed.....

    I installeld Virtue Destop, so I can have the spinning dekstops like in the YouTube video and it's all working a treat.
     
  9. kemcco macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    #9
    Exact Settings in xorg.conf

    What were your final xorg.conf settings? Specifically the rsync values. If you can list them, we can all use them. Thanks!
     
  10. MRU thread starter macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #10
    I didn't change the refresh values at all.

    All I added was on the 24 bit settings catagory only; was the "1280x800" setting before "1024x768"...


    I'll post the other info later in case it is slightly different to anyone else.
    First time I fecked around with the xorg.conf I bodged it and had to re-install :eek:
     
  11. Blind Buzzard macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2005
    Location:
    Where?
    #11
    I'm trying to get the ISO Disc of Ubuntu 6.06 to work on bootup on my iBook G4 12in.

    I cannot get it to boot from disc on startup.

    Can anyone assist?

    I'm trying to use cmd/opt/shift/delete on startup but just get blinking file. Also tried holding the C key on startup with no luck.

    What am I doing wrong?
     
  12. MRU thread starter macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #12
    ??? You sure you downloaded the ppc version?

    It should boot by keep holding down c.. :confused:
     
  13. UberMac macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Location:
    England
    #13
    Just an FYI, when I boot in SLAX form the Live CD on my iMac it recognizes the Airport card no problems, I can surf the net straight off with no issues :D

    Uber
     
  14. Flowbee macrumors 68030

    Flowbee

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2002
    Location:
    Alameda, CA
    #14
    Same here... Airport is fine when running Ubuntu from the live CD on my Pismo Powerbook. I was actually amazed that it worked automatically the first time I tried it.
     
  15. MRU thread starter macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #15
    Really? Strange in my ibook with ubuntu live cd it doesnt.
    On my macbook via live cd is doesnt either.
    ubuntu 6.0.6
     
  16. Blind Buzzard macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2005
    Location:
    Where?
    #16
    I made sure I downloaded the PPC version. I also download via a torrent to check the stability of the data in case my previous version was corrupt. Still no luck here.

    I also went ahead and booted off my Tiger disc just to ensure that the problem wasn't on my machine, it booted fine.

    Any suggestions?
     
  17. MRU thread starter macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #17
    ?? no i'm affraid :eek:
     
  18. Blind Buzzard macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2005
    Location:
    Where?
    #18
    Thanks for the assistance to all. I finally was able to get the ISO image to load last night.

    Evidently I was not burning the disc correctly in Toast. When using DiskUtility I had no problems.

    Thanks again.
     
  19. dextertangocci macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    #19
    Ubuntu is crap. It always crashes.

    Meaning of Ubuntu: Noun: a quality that includes the essential human virtues; compassion and humanity. ORIGIN Xhosa and Zulu from South Africa.
     
  20. patrick0brien macrumors 68040

    patrick0brien

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Location:
    The West Loop
    #20
    Dead thread Resurrected!

    Ok, got Parallels 3188 (March 7 build), have successfully done all of the VM setup. Pointed the boot to the "ubuntu-6.10-desktop-i386.iso", and it boots fine. I run the install process, and here's the rub:

    No matter if the RAM is 256mb all the way to 1024mb, the partition is set, or expanding, from 2048mb to 8192mb and expanding, the Installer crashes at the same point in the process at about 55% with the error "Not enough space on Device"

    VM configured for Linux Kernel 2.6 BTW.

    Any ideas?
     
  21. MRU thread starter macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #21
    mmm I'll dig out my copy of ubuntu 6.10 and re-install it on the new version of paralells and get back to you.
     
  22. patrick0brien macrumors 68040

    patrick0brien

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Location:
    The West Loop
    #22
    -MacRumorUser

    Thanks man. Those 'L's will kill ya huh?
     

Share This Page