Uh Oh - Tiger installation and overheating iMac?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by jenrafi, Aug 23, 2006.

  1. jenrafi macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    #1
    Hi,
    I've got an iMac G5 1.8 running Panther so I was trying to upgrade to Tiger. Got halfway through the upgrade (not sure at what point) and restarted. Then it continued spinning, and spinning, and spinning (Apple icon appears and the spinning is below). Force shut off, unplugged, got install disc out and restarted and same thing is happening. If I hold down "c" this computer won't start from c.d.... also I hold down option key and fan goes beserk and freezes up. The overheating component was replaced a few months ago. (it's a revision A)
    ANY SUGGESTIONS?????????
     
  2. elfin buddy macrumors 6502a

    elfin buddy

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2001
    Location:
    Tuttlingen, Germany
    #2
    Try booting in Safe Mode (hold down [SHIFT] while starting up), and see if you can get far enough to pop in a disc and boot from it.
     
  3. trainguy77 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
  4. elfin buddy macrumors 6502a

    elfin buddy

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2001
    Location:
    Tuttlingen, Germany
    #4
    To reset the PRAM, I think you hold down [CMD]-[OPT]-[P]-[R] on startup, and wait to hear two or three chimes. Is that right, trainguy77?
     
  5. jenrafi thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    #5
    Update: resetting the PRAM, no luck. Am able to start up from disc, ran Apple hardware test, got an error on mass storage (maybe due to it crashing in the middle of installing Tiger??), screen went all rainbow (?) now tring to reinstall Tiger
     
  6. trainguy77 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    #6
    hmm well it could be because of the failed install but more likely is that it caused the failed install. So what I would suggest is boot from your tiger install disks. Format the drive. This will get rid of everything thats on it. So if you have stuff on it then post here and we might be able to get your data back. You format from one of the menus at the top at the very beginning of the install as a recall. You do it from within disk utility(which is in the menu)
     
  7. jenrafi thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    #7
  8. jenrafi thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    #8
    2nd uh-oh

    hmmm ok I've given up on Tiger (for now) and have successfully reinstalled Panther. I had the computer set up where you did not need login but now it is asking for it and I didn't write it down and I looked at Apple website and it says:
    "If you are the administrator of the computer, and you can't remember the master password, the information in your home folder is lost forever."
    Scary statement. Is this true?
    I can't even get past this page (!?)
     
  9. bokdol macrumors 6502a

    bokdol

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    VA
    #9
    one warning about tiger. actually not tiger but the 10.4.7 update. after installing. it will reboot. and take a long time and the grey screen with the apple. a long time.

    then it will reboot again. it seems the update forces 2 reboots. just a word of caution. i have done this update on many computers and all did the 2 reboots.
     
  10. bokdol macrumors 6502a

    bokdol

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    VA
    #10

    try booting off cd... after that you can reset pass word. it's in a drop down menu.
     

Share This Page