UK: Cable broadband just got faster! (3Mbit)

Discussion in 'Current Events' started by edesignuk, Apr 26, 2004.

  1. Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #1
    Full Article.

    OMFG! Yay! My 2Mbit will be 3Mbit by the end of May for no extra cost! Broadband in the UK is starting to catch up at last :D
     
  2. Moderator emeritus

    WinterMute

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2003
    Location:
    London, England
    #2
    Now you can get your porn sooo much quicker... :D ;)

    I'm on NTL here, they are still too expensive to go much beyond 512, plus the are a bit flaky on the service side. Still, I get my phone rental in th eprice, so it ain't too bad.
     
  3. thread starter Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #3
    I know! :eek: :D
     
  4. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2002
    Location:
    Oxford UK
    #4
    Bulldog already offer 4mbit and 8mbit ADSL, it is alot more expensive but as a business it's not really an issue.
     
  5. thread starter Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #5
    Exactly, business. An I believe this is only in central London, and to home users is only at 4Mbit "off-peak", not 24/7.
     
  6. macrumors 65816

    1macker1

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Location:
    A Higher Level
    #6
    Some of the Asian countries have been at 20Mbps for a while now.
     
  7. macrumors 68030

    crazzyeddie

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    #7
    For how much though. You also have to realize that "some of the Asian countries" have very very little demand for the service, so they have the bandwidth to spare. European countries have 10mb and 100mb lines very cheaply because the government forced high-bandwidth lines when the internet because popular and subsidize the pricing.
     
  8. thread starter Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #8
    Don't get me wrong, I know this isn't by any means the fastest. But for broandband in the UK this is a big deal. Not only is it the fastest cable in the UK (there are some off-peak DSL services that do go faster in certain areas). But also this is the first time that I'm aware of that a broadband ISP has given a major free upgrade, also this should get BT off their arse and start getting decent DSL speeds nationwide for those that don't live in cabled areas.
     
  9. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2004
    #9
    MY comcast cable went from 1.5 to 3.0 not too long ago. Its just great, hehe.
     
  10. macrumors 65816

    1macker1

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Location:
    A Higher Level
    #10
    I think the cost was 60.00 dollars in US currency. They said that the governments are trying to push broadband, thus introduced deregulation. I'm still stuck at 1.5Mbps with my DSL connection, but i saw that they recently introduced 3Mbps.
     
  11. macrumors 65816

    1macker1

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Location:
    A Higher Level
    #11
    It must be nice to get the free upgrade. The way they did it here was that they went down on the 1.5 connection, and set the 3.0Mbps to 49.00.
     
  12. macrumors G3

    Counterfit

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Location:
    sitting on your shoulder
    #12
    Heh, my cable went to 3mbit before Comcast :p

    Oh and it's $35 per month. £50, pff :p
     
  13. hob
    macrumors 68020

    hob

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2003
    Location:
    London, UK
    #13
    NTL is HARDLY a rival... NTL and Telewest have just carved up the country between themselves... I don't know of any area where you can pick to have cable from either - it's one or the other! NTL are better at their TV selection and Telewest are better at their internet services... to be honest, being on NTL I'm happy - just have to kick my STB now and again to get the internet going but having more TV channels is bliss :D

    That's hardly competitive! Why? Because they don't need to be!!
     
  14. macrumors 68040

    Powerbook G5

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Location:
    St Augustine, FL
    #14
    Here in Florida I have Bellsouth DSL at 3.0 Mbps down and 384 Kbps up for $50 a month. It's more expensive than cable, but our apartment is getting free cable since Time Warner forgot to disconnect it years ago and I cannot order a cable modem since then they'd realize that we are getting free cable. It's pretty nice, I get a consistent 300+ KB/s transfer speeds most often, but it's still $10 more and slower than the peak speed of the cable modem my family has at home.
     
  15. macrumors 604

    MrMacMan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Location:
    1 Block away from NYC.
    #15
    My ISP is great.

    Problem being my router.

    Upload Suppose to be 100+ KB/sec
    Upload is really: <20 KB/sec

    :eek:
     
  16. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2002
    Location:
    at the edge
    #16
    Just this month my Charter cable went from 768 down / 128 up for $40 a month to 3 mbit down / 256 up for the same price. It's still not as snappy as it was when I lived on a university campus (where it was free), but it's a great improvement.
     
  17. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2003
    Location:
    UK
    #17
    NTL don't do 512, its 600, and this is being boosted to 750 without a price hike! Lots of reports have been saying that NTL is increasing all speeds by 50%. I maybe wrong, but 50% onto 600 makes it 900, not 750! Oh well, something for nothing, can't complain.
     
  18. macrumors 65816

    Savage Henry

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2004
    Location:
    in a one horse, two house, three pub town.
    #18
    I've only stuck with NTL because I was there at the beginning and my own and my wife's personal e-mail actually resemble our names.

    But there service really does blow. It's only been the last 2 days of the last 2 weeks that I've been assured of a connection.

    But when it does work, I'm happy, and my 512k is more than enough for me right now. When movies are legally downloadable I might reconsider, but only then.
     
  19. macrumors 6502a

    Sabbath

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2003
    Location:
    London
    #19

    Yeah NTL really suck big time. They're notorious for over selling their bandwidth, as a result their service is never very fast. I live in an area with probably 6,000 students many of whom have broadband and predominantly NTL, this means this gets even worse. Last year was a nightmare the connection would really slow right down, this year doesn't seem to be so bad, maybe they are improving their service but I really would advise people away from NTL if there is a decent alternative.
     
  20. macrumors 65816

    1macker1

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Location:
    A Higher Level
    #20
    WTH! After reading this thread yesterday, i did a check on my bellsouth DSL account, and they are offering 3.0Mbps DSL for 44.00, but i'm getting charged 44.0 for my 1.5 connection. They will be hearing from me today!


    WHOOOOOO HOOOO! I now have 3.0Mpbs connection!
     
  21. macrumors 68000

    hvfsl

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2001
    Location:
    London, UK
    #21
    I am on NTL and have the 1mbit connect ATM and my pings do sometimes get a bit high on it between 6pm and 8pm weekdays (I am in East London), but then the people I know with BT are no better off.

    If you are having problems with NTL, there is meant to be a way to change the NTL server you connect to if your connection gets a bit slow. If you google it, you will probably get more info. I think you basically have to force your computer/router to use a different proxy server or something.

    NTL is getting better (for me at least), I asked them what was going on and they said that they were having problems keeping up with demand and they were increasing capacity all the time, but obviously not fast enough.
     
  22. macrumors G3

    Counterfit

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Location:
    sitting on your shoulder
    #22
    You do realize that upstream and downstream speeds are listed in mega/kilobits right? What kind of connection is it?
     
  23. macrumors 604

    MrMacMan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Location:
    1 Block away from NYC.
    #23
    Yes yes I know.

    I supposely have a 1 MB line here.

    I think my router is a piece of junk though.


    my friends don't get this weird upload cap ...

    Cable... 1 MB
     
  24. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    #24
    hi...

    thanks for ur kind info..

    and may i know :confused: ill it b a quality product ???
     
  25. macrumors 601

    Schtumple

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    Location:
    benkadams.com
    #25
    You did see when the OP posted this right?
     

Share This Page