Unable to connect to wireless

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by knoppixeu, Feb 18, 2013.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2013
    #1
    Hi all,

    I have been unable to connect to my wireless router for about a week now. I connected to my access point downstairs ( this works fine ).

    However when I come upstairs I want to switch to the strong single.
    I used to be able to connect to the wireless router just fine however it just seems to have stopped.

    When trying to connect to this wireless router after 2 minute I get wireless connection timed out.

    I have tried rebooting the router & my mac. I have also tried deleting the wireless device history from my mac however this also didn't work.

    Can anyone help me please?
     
  2. macrumors 6502a

    Swiss-G

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #2
    Which router do you have and can anything else connect to it?

    You can try running the wifi scanning tool in ML as follows

    Hold down the Option[alt] key and click on the Wi-Fi menu bar icon
    Select he last item on the list which is “Open Wi-Fi Diagnostics…”
    Hit Command+N to bring up the Network Utilities screen which includes the wi-fi scanning tool.

    Check to see if there are any other wifi networks in the area using the same channel as yours. The default for most routers is 1 or 11. If there are several networks on the same channel change it.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2013
    #3
    Its the BT Home Hub 3.
    Other devices are able to connect just not this one!!

    When connected to the access point I am able to ping just not get on the other wireless router via the web browser or connect :/.
     
  4. macrumors 6502a

    Swiss-G

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #4
    Can you access the BT Home Hub 3 using an ethernet cable?

    Have you tried changing the wireless channel of the BT Home Hub 3?
     
  5. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2013
    #5
    Yes I can connect using a ethernet cable. I know its not my hub.

    Its something on the Mac book pro but I am not sure what.
     
  6. macrumors 6502a

    Swiss-G

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #6
    The point of the post was to establish if you can access the admin page of the home hub.

    If so change the wifi channel on the home hub to 6 and see if this improves things
     
  7. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2013
    #7
    Hi there, No I am not able to access the admin page on my Mac Book. But I can on other devices.

    I have changed the WIFI channel and this does not doing anything.
     
  8. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2013
  9. macrumors 603

    blueroom

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #9
    The BT Home Hub 3 has mediocre WiFi, reboot it, update its firmware, try a different WiFi channel.

    Failing that try an AirPort Express setup as an access point.

    Or

    If it be used in bridge mode get a better WiFi router.
     

Share This Page