Unable to download from App Store

Discussion in 'OS X Yosemite (10.10)' started by mizxco, Jul 24, 2014.

  1. macrumors 6502

    mizxco

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2014
    #1
    Anyone still unable to download the beta completely from MAP?
    It always fails at the 1gb point.
     
  2. macrumors 68030

    BasicGreatGuy

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2012
    Location:
    In the middle of several books.
    #2
    The servers are probably overloaded at the moment. Wait several hours to a day, and try again.
     
  3. mizxco, Jul 24, 2014
    Last edited: Jul 24, 2014

    thread starter macrumors 6502

    mizxco

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2014
    #3
    Still? Some people did get their download to complete though.

    Everyone stop for 10 minutes while I get it!!!:D

    I swear this download is hosted on a tiny mac mini in their server farm.:mad:
     
  4. macrumors regular

    GoldenChild

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2014
    #4
    Mine is stuck on "Waiting..." and the progress bar on the launchpad icon is grey with no progress.:mad:
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 6502

    mizxco

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2014
    #5
    I changed my DNS back to my ISP default and it worked!!

    Currently 60%, fingers crossed
     
  6. macrumors regular

    GoldenChild

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2014
    #6
    Interesting... I use OpenDNS, could that be a factor?
     
  7. thread starter macrumors 6502

    mizxco

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2014
    #7
    Could be! I was on google dns
    Maybe they are kicking certain connections

    Update: back to 40% :)
     
  8. macrumors 68030

    iPhil

    #8
    if you get error code in MAS then try rebooting the system to clear "MAS" error cache then try re-downloading the Beta from the Purchase tab in MAS..
     
  9. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #9
    done that and kept getting errors. Cleared all the caches, deleted several smaller apps from MAS and they were all OK, its only Yosemite thats been giving me problem.
    At this point I think it would be easier to torrent it
     
  10. thread starter macrumors 6502

    mizxco

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2014
    #10
    Nope tried that, didn't work.

    Happens on different machines also
     
  11. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2012
    Location:
    UK
    #11
    Yes. Apple use Akamai, which serves content based on your ISPs DNS servers. Best to use these where you can.
     
  12. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #12
    Still can't, the download errors on me randomly and i can't even pause a download, when I resume a download it goes back to 0. I am very frustrated over this
     
  13. xgman, Jul 24, 2014
    Last edited: Jul 24, 2014

    macrumors 68040

    xgman

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    #13
    FAILED 3 times and counting!! THEN starts from the beginning all over again!

    sigh... purchases download again, start over, etc. What a pathetic download server Apple seems to have. Imagine when the real deal is released!

    ----------

    That is called adding insult to injury. We should expect better from Apple. This is embarrassing really.

    ----------

    which is ironic considering it's free..
     
  14. macrumors 68000

    ABC5S

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2013
    Location:
    Florida
    #14
    Download

    Downloaded first time tried, just a few minutes ago.
     
  15. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #15
    I tried to reset caches and restarts and all the "solutions" and no luck, but i guess this is just an fail on apple's end. Oh well
     
  16. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2013
    #16
    Changed my DNS back to ISP and seems to be downloading now...
     
  17. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #17
    How do you do that? i mean.. I never mess with DNS stuff so it's probably still the ISP settings.
     
  18. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2013
    #18
    If you have never changed it, it would default to your ISP... I use Unblock-us so have my DNS set to theirs....

    the setting is located in Network Preferences>advance>DNS for the computer

    or if you have an airport

    airport utility>edit>internet


    greyed out numbers are default auto settings...
     
  19. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #19
    right, which means I do have the default ISP setting and shouldn't give me the error I've been dealing, not to mention any other MAS apps download just fine.
     
  20. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2012
    #20
    This happens every year with Apple's large OS releases. Download issues always.
     
  21. macrumors 68040

    xgman

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    #21
    Finally got it downloaded, but I'm just going to hold it in applications for a while and see how the reports are.
     
  22. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2013
    #22
    Full download complete... too bad I have to go to work now and no time to play with it...
     
  23. macrumors regular

    ms.annette

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2009
    Location:
    SoCal
    #23
    Still getting constant error codes. Sigh...
     
  24. thread starter macrumors 6502

    mizxco

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2014
    #24
    I'm curious how much bandwidth Apple has dedicated for this, I excepted to run this 20 mins after release but 12 hrs later, I'm still downloading it.
     
  25. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    #25
    I just did a test. I tried downloading Mavericks from the App Store and the download went along just fine. So I don't think its a problem on my end, it has something to do with the Yosemite servers.
     

Share This Page