Underclock Mac

Discussion in 'OS X Mountain Lion (10.8)' started by Sven11, Nov 25, 2012.

  1. Sven11
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    Sven11

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
  2. simsaladimbamba
    Expand Collapse
    Guest

    simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #2
    Macs do not run at full CPU usage the whole time, modern Intel CPUs are quite at throttling themselves.

    Why do you want to do it in the first place?
     
  3. Sven11
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Sven11

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
  4. Satori
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    Satori

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #4
  5. Intell
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #5
    It's still running within Intell's specifications. If is was running "way too hot" it would shutdown to prevent damage.

    That doesn't work with 10.7+.
     
  6. Sven11
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Sven11

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    #6
    It does.
     
  7. Intell
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #7
    Then your machine has a defect. Take it to Apple to have it serviced.
     
  8. Satori
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    Satori

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #8
    This thread might help you to get it running under ML:

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1401957
     
  9. Intell
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #9
    Even if that does get it working, it still isn't a good idea to use an outdated and already unstable kernel extension with an OS that it does not support.
     
  10. ThatGreekMacGuy
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors member

    ThatGreekMacGuy

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2012
    Location:
    Sparta, Greece
    #10
    Just use SMCFanControl to make your fans run at a bit higher rpm.
     

Share This Page