Unfamilier error message

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Typo, Sep 9, 2005.

  1. Typo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2004
    #1
    I'm trying to upgrade from OSX 10.3.9 to Tiger.

    It tells me it can't finish the installation because of 'errors.'

    I run the Tiger Disk Utility and the repair FAILS and tells me the reason is:

    "The underlying task reported failure on exit"

    I tried an archive and install and it won't let me do that either. I REALLY don't want to do an erase and install. Can anyone think of something else?

    Thanks.
     
  2. Eniregnat macrumors 68000

    Eniregnat

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2003
    Location:
    In your head.
    #2
    Something major is going on, and if your lucky during a clean install it can fix the problem. Back your stuff up- regardless. What is the condition of the HD? What is it's SMART report? (SMART won't catch all errors, but it can help diagnose some kinds of errors, and if they are repairable, and what the likelihood of a fatale drive crash is).

    In any case, regardless what the advice is, back your stuff up.
     
  3. unfaded macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
  4. Eniregnat macrumors 68000

    Eniregnat

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2003
    Location:
    In your head.
    #4
    You guys are both funny.

    Back on topic. Let us know what happens.
     
  5. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #5
    Total shot in the dark: Is your machine supported by Tiger?
     
  6. yenko macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Location:
    SouthWest-USA
    #6
    :rolleyes: Heard this just yesterday......

    is your installation disk nice and clean and shiny and scratch-free ???? :D
     
  7. .:*Robot Boy*:. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2005
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #7
    Haha, have you checked his screen name? :D

    Oh, the irony!
     
  8. Typo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2004
    #8
    lol...Now you know WHY I picked the screen name 'typo.'

    Yes, my system meets the requirements to support tiger, yes the disk is quite lovely, and I'm ashamed to say this, but me no understand what SMART report be.

    In the year and a half that I've had this HD I've never had any problems so it's really giving me a brain freeze.
     
  9. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #9
    Go to Disk Utility in the Utilities folder embedded in your Applications folder and in this app, select your disk from the panel on the left. In the bottom right, does it say SMART status is verified? :)
     
  10. Typo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2004
  11. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #11
    I know you don't want to, but can I recommend doing an erase/format/install. If you manage to get this thing working on a mere upgrade, I can see you getting more problems down the track.
     
  12. Typo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2004
    #12


    Good advice. But let me ask you this...my computer is one of those that can boot up both OS 10.3.9 and OS 9.2. If I do an erase and install, will that remove that capability? I have some programs that MUST run on the OS 9.
     
  13. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #13
    Yes it will unless you set aside a partition especially for OS9. If you still have the OS9 disks, this shouldn't be a problem AFAIK. :)
     
  14. Typo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2004
    #14

    Set aside a partition??
     
  15. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #15
    Unless you have more than one hard disk, you'll probably want to make a new partition to keep the OS9 files on. This way, you'll be able to start up from either Tiger or OS9. I'm not sure whether the best way to do this is during or after attempting to install Tiger, sorry. I don't have much experience with dual-boot systems.
     
  16. Typo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2004

Share This Page