Unibrain Firewire Webcam and Yahoo Messenger

Discussion in 'Mac Help/Tips' started by eVolcre, Apr 24, 2003.

  1. eVolcre macrumors 65816

    eVolcre

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    #1
    Hi,

    I just installed the webcam above using factory supplied software. Is there somehting special I need to do to make it work with YIM? When i click on 'start my webcam', it finds the camera, puts up an image for a second, says 'connecting'on the bottom (don't know to what tho) and then makes the webcam screen blank.

    Any advice?

    Anyone else own this particular webcam and can give me some tips to use it better ....

    Thanks

    KSR
     
  2. eVolcre thread starter macrumors 65816

    eVolcre

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    #2
    OK, I found this ....

    On versiontracker.com , in the comments for Yahoo IM

    Person 1

    That's EXACTLY my problem.

    Here is one response ...

    I found the IOexperts Fire-i drivr and dragged it to the Trash folder. EMptied, restarted the machine and restarted YIM.

    Still the same problem. :(

    Help ...

    Or, is there a multi chat client that can handle AOL,MSN and YIM AND works with webcams?

    Thanks EV
     
  3. eVolcre thread starter macrumors 65816

    eVolcre

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    #3
    Update

    At Patrick0Brien's suggestion (thx) I created a DMZ on my wireless linksys router and entered the powerbooks IP address in.

    I also forwarded ports 2000-2003 directly to the router.

    Anyone? SOMEONE must own this webcam and talk via YIM?

    Thx - KS
     
  4. eVolcre thread starter macrumors 65816

    eVolcre

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
  5. patrick0brien macrumors 68040

    patrick0brien

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Location:
    The West Loop
    #5
    -eVolcre

    Thanks for the tip-of-the hat.

    I'm still burning on this one on my end. No luck yet.

    It appears you've found a real boggle for the community here. Congrats.:rolleyes:

    Question: Has the behavior changed with 10.2.6?
     

Share This Page