Unidentified port on new iMac!?

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by Apple!Freak, Oct 16, 2005.

  1. igucl macrumors 6502a

    igucl

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2003
    #2
    I have the same thing on my previous generation iMac G5. I believe it is for a cable lock? :confused:
     
  2. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #3
    Yeah, I think that's what it is too -- a lock slot for the kind of cables that come from Kensington -- like the one on the notebooks. :)
     
  3. w_parietti22 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2005
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #4
    Its the Cable Lock. Very useful for schools and dorms. :)
     
  4. Daveway macrumors 68040

    Daveway

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Location:
    New Orleans / Lafayette, La
    #5
    As the owner of 2 iMacs, shouldn't you have known this? A better question would be what the grey circle ABOVE the power port is.
     
  5. Apple!Freak thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Apple!Freak

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Location:
    East Coast
    #6
    Haha! Thanks guys. I never realized it was there before.

    Daveway, now lets not get cocky. :p Also, the second iMac has not arrived yet. It's scheduled to come Friday.
     
  6. homerjward macrumors 68030

    homerjward

    Joined:
    May 11, 2004
    Location:
    fig tree
    #7
    your 1.9ghz imac also uses ddr2 ram, as opposed to ddr like in your sig.
     
  7. Apple!Freak thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Apple!Freak

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Location:
    East Coast
    #8
    No it doesn't. :p
     

Share This Page