unlinking hard drives??

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by xanotos, Apr 27, 2006.

  1. xanotos macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2005
    #1
    Well, I have this problem. Seem the 2 drives I have in my g4 powermac are linked together. I recently got a iMac and was going to transfer the user information on the powermac to it. Everytime I turned the powermac into firewire it would say OS X was not in it. Seems it would startup with the 2nd drive that only has photos.
    I disconnected that photo drive and seems like the computer does not want to run correctly. Wouldn't let use it as a firewire.
    How do I separate both drive from eachother?

    Thanks in advance,

    David
     
  2. trainguy77 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    #2
    Do you have RAID set up? Do the two drives appear as one when you are using the computer?
     
  3. xanotos thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2005
    #3
    Don't know if they are setup as raid. I do see both drives on my desktop.
    How can I know if setup as raid? I bought the computer this way and am sort of new to Mac.
     
  4. trainguy77 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    #4
    If you see both drives on your desktop then its not RAID. When you say "turned it into firewire" What do you mean? Are you using the "T" key? Or are you firewire networking?
     
  5. xanotos thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2005
    #5
    Well, when I press "T" and it goes into Firewire mode, it starts up with the drive that does not have OSX. It starts with the second drive.
    I unplugged the second drive and when I pressed "T" it won't go into Firewire mode.
     
  6. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #6
    If you press T to go into Firewire target disk mode successfully, it doesn't start up with ANY drive - it just has the Firewire logo floating on screen.
    So if you are seeing a startup drive or a desktop, you are not in Firewire mode...
     
  7. xanotos thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2005
    #7
    Well, if I have both disk plugged in, and I press "T" it will go into firewire mode with the wrong drive. I even change it in Disk Utilities to the drive with OSX. If I unplug the drive that does not have OSX and run Firewire mode, the computer shuts itself off.
    How do I change the drives to not be running in raid mode?
     

Share This Page