Unlock 8 Virtual Cores on rMBP

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Squilly, Feb 4, 2013.

  1. Squilly
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68020

    Squilly

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2012
    Location:
    PA
    #1
    I was told there was a way to unlock all cores on a rMBP by starting 8 chess games with computer vs computer. The problem: I can only start one. How do you start multiple games?
     
  2. alphaod
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    San Jose (CA)
    #2
    What do you mean "unlock" cores?

    It's just a computer. It comes working with 8 logical processors.
     
  3. simsaladimbamba
    Expand Collapse
    Guest

    simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #3
    Why do you want to do what?

    Your Mac has one CPU with four real cores, each core having two virtual cores, giving you eight virtual cores as a whole, and if an application is written to take advantage of those, it will use them if it needs to. No need to "unlock" something.

    And how many threads is that today? 10?
     
  4. duervo
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 65816

    duervo

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2011
    #4
    OS X does not support CPU affinity for individual processes. AFAIK, the kernel handles the distribution of processes amongst a CPU's cores. There is no way that I know of to force a process to run on a specific CPU core.
     
  5. thejadedmonkey
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 604

    thejadedmonkey

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Location:
    Pa
    #5
    Couldn't you do that dev > null terminal command 8 times to max out the CPU?
     
  6. Patrick Boyle
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Location:
    Western Montana
  7. Squilly
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors 68020

    Squilly

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2012
    Location:
    PA
    #7
    Just to stress the computer, see what it can do, that's all. I was told by someone that it's recommended.
     
  8. chrise2
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2012
    #8
    Ask it to play global thermal nuclear warfare. It will unlock all 1024 cores. :)
     
  9. simsaladimbamba
    Expand Collapse
    Guest

    simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #9
    Then run benchmarks like Cinebench (nice visual thing), Xbench or GeekBench or some others. Or install HandBrake and convert some already ripped DVDs.
     
  10. Asuriyan
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2013
    Location:
    Indiana
  11. Squilly
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors 68020

    Squilly

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2012
    Location:
    PA
    #11
    I'm on it. Don't get it at all though.
     
  12. duervo
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 65816

    duervo

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2011
    #12
    You could, but that doesn't guarantee that each one will be pinned to a separate core.

    OS X provides no method for CPU affinity. Running a process 8 times is no guarantee that each instance will get its own CPU core for its life ... It probably will, but no guarantees. For example. a scheduled process could start that could temporarily move one of those 8 instances to a core already in use by one of its siblings.

    CPU affinity lets you tie a process to a single core for its entire life.

    Windows NT (and newer can do it per process), as can Linux (for the past 7 or 8 years or so).

    OS X doesn't ... at least anywhere I could find in any if the docs on darwin. Leaving such work up to the kernel CPU scheduler itself. Trust in the kernel, in other words.
     
  13. Nermal
    Expand Collapse
    Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    Whakatane, New Zealand
    #13
    You need to duplicate (Cmd-D) Chess.app.
     
  14. Squilly
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors 68020

    Squilly

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2012
    Location:
    PA
    #14
    Doesn't work. Press cmd+D in the app?
     
  15. simsaladimbamba
    Expand Collapse
    Guest

    simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #15
    Go to the Applications folder, select Chess.app and then press CMD+D, as CMD+D is a Finder keyboard shortcut for "duplicating" files and folders.

    Also know, that you can use an avatar now.
     
  16. Squilly
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors 68020

    Squilly

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2012
    Location:
    PA
    #16
    Dually noted and yay! Thanks.
    Edit: worked. Fan is blowing like crazy with ridiculous lag and getting increasingly hot. Damn...

    ----------

    Fans are blasting!
    [​IMG]
     
  17. simsaladimbamba
    Expand Collapse
    Guest

    simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #17
    That is what you get with CPU intensive applications using the CPU, and the following FAQ should you inform you about that: Those Macs in their heat - a sine of over-heating? - a short story by Mister GGJstudios
     
  18. hansenc
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502

    hansenc

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    #18
    Actually Command + N will open new windows of the chess game without all the work to copy the app over and over again.
     
  19. Nermal
    Expand Collapse
    Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    Whakatane, New Zealand
    #19
    I didn't know about that when I made my earlier post (I was at work), but Cmd-N seems to be really flaky; I just did it three times and it only generated one additional game.
     
  20. derbothaus
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 601

    derbothaus

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    #20
    man renice
     
  21. Fatt
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2012
    Location:
    Miami/Gainesville, FL
  22. duervo
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 65816

    duervo

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2011
    #22
    renice changes process priority. It has nothing to do with CPU affinity.
     
  23. Outkast27
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2012
    Location:
    Earf
    #23
    HAHAHA! this MF had me thinking of the Whopr when I read the op!
     
  24. throAU
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2012
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    #24
    Handbrake to rip a DVD (or ISO of one) is a good stress test. It will max all 8 virtual cores on my MBP.
     
  25. derbothaus
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 601

    derbothaus

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    #25

Share This Page