Unlocked 3GS won't turn on after Cydia update~ Help needed!

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by enochpeng, Nov 15, 2009.

  1. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    #1
    Thank you for taking your time to view my post and possibly helping me!

    My phone is about a month old and it's a Rogers iPhone 3GS 16GB

    I jailbroken it using Dev-Team's method and than unlocked it using blackra1n.

    Last night, I did a complete update in Cydia, and was told to reboot the device, I did so.

    After that, my iPhone will only stay on the Apple logo screen for 10-20 second, and then shuts itself off again. I tried to reboot more than 30 times and tried to connect to my mac, same story......

    Is there anyway I can restore it w/o the need to see it in iTunes??

    I'm so upset now.... So any input or tips would be much much appreciated~!

    Thanks everyone again!
     
  2. macrumors 604

    jmann

    #2
    Did you update mobile substrate? That has been causing problems with people. I would suggest restoring the phone in iTunes and rejailbreaking it. Is there a reason you don't want/can't use iTunes? It is required to do a restore.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    #3
    Thanks mate, pardon me I didn't describe it clearly.

    My phone won't even turn on now, will only stay on the apple logo screen for a while. So essentially I can't connect it with iTunes...

    any idea?
     
  4. macrumors 68030

    bytethese

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Location:
    Cranford, NJ
    #4
    You might have an iPhone with the updated iBoot, which means you can only do a teathered jailbreak. Check to make sure. :)
     
  5. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    #5
    Thanks for your help, but how can i do so? and does it require the iphone to been seen in iTunes and connected to the computer or completely turned on...
     
  6. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    #6
    You put the phone in DFU mode

    Here is a thread on how to check

    Don't forget about Google
     
  7. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    #7
    help!!!


    Please let me know if you were able to fix it and how. I had the exact same problem. :(
     
  8. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    #8
    There is no fix for this. For the new bootrom the jailbreak is a tethered jailbreak. It requires a computer, USB cable and copy of Blackra1n to restart or reboot every time !
     

Share This Page