Unlocked iPhone 5 hotspot with Straighttalk

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by gapperonduty, Oct 16, 2012.

  1. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    #1
    hi all,

    My unlocked (fusionunlocked) i5 using with straighttalk can't be used with hotspot. going to general-cellular-set up hotspot would just ask for att permission.

    anyone has any issue like this and/or any way to circumvent this problem. I would assume that unlocking the i5 would release the hotspot restriction by att..

    thanks..
     
  2. macrumors Nehalem

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #2
    No.
    The restriction is put there by your carrier.
    You dont get unlimited hotspot with them.
    Only way around it would be when there is a JB available.
    Nothing you can do now. An unlocked iphone still uses the specific carrier config files and restrictions put in place by them.
    It doesnt bypass the carriers rules.
    Try to do facetime over 3G too and see how far you get with that:)
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    #3
    Thanks for the info!

    This sounds like a restricted unlock to me since the hotspot capability of the phone is still locked to the carrier. I am assuming this is true for Verizon as well as Sprint with their respective unlocked iphone 5? (mine is ATT).

    sounds kind of wrong to me. Maybe I will talk to the ATT rep when I go in to cancel the contract with them and update this thread of any new info...
     
  4. macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    #4
    I think that what you're experiencing can be explained by looking at this post of mine:

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showpost.php?p=15914091&postcount=13

    In this case, the ability to use the Personal Hotspot feature is being prevented, because the phone thinks you're using it on AT&T and that they haven't allowed it on your account.

    This is unfortunately how the iPhone is designed to work.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    #5
    ahhhh...okay this makes some sense and is very unfortunate.

    Then the question is, would the use of any other unlocked iphone 5, including verizon and other international model, on straight talk NOT be hotspot restricted assuming they do not have the AT&T config files installed?
     
  6. macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    #6
    Every iPhone has the same carrier settings files installed - they're part of the firmware.

    Each version of iOS contains the settings for every supported carrier at that time. Carriers can also release updates in between iOS releases if they're important enough (like Verizon's to fix issues with their iPhone 5 using Cellular Data instead of Wi-Fi).

    Given this, the same restriction will apply no matter which iPhone you put your SIM into.
     
  7. macrumors Nehalem

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #7
    Nope. It doesn't matter what iPhone you use.
    The carrier locks that feature with their config file that's installed the second you put the sim in.
    It doesn't matter if you use an unlocked iPhone from Australia. Same results.
    Only way around it is to pay for the feature or jb it and use a tethering hack.
    Talking to an AT&T rep won't make any difference.
     
  8. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    #8
    thank you guys for the info...this really is unfortunate...
     
  9. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Location:
    Seacoast NH
    #9
    Was this ever conquered?

    Has ANYONE figured out HOW to use Straight-talk with a Mobile HotSpot - EVEN WITH ANY PHONE??
     
  10. macrumors 6502

    Christian 5G

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
  11. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2011
    #11
    It works on my Lumia 800 running Windows Phone 7.8
     
  12. macrumors Nehalem

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #12
    That helps out a lot in an iphone forum...
     
  13. macrumors 68020

    bmac4

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2013
    Location:
    Atlanta Ga
    #13
    I believe the question was ask if any phone could get hotspot to work on ST. I think he was just answering a question. I am pretty sure your post was not needed.
     
  14. macrumors 68020

    bmac4

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2013
    Location:
    Atlanta Ga
    #14
    If you read the entire thread you would have seen Seacoast post a question asking if any phone worked with ST hotspots. Mumzy was answering his question. So again your post was not needed.
     
  15. macrumors 68020

    bmac4

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2013
    Location:
    Atlanta Ga
    #15
    I never said you could not post. I said it was not needed. You were being rude, and there was no need to post a smartbutt comment. Maybe Memzy did not notice that is was 3 months ago. Or for that matter who cares?

    Oh and I am not your homie. I do not want to be associated with you in any way.
     
  16. Applejuiced, Jun 19, 2013
    Last edited: Jun 19, 2013

    macrumors Nehalem

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #16
    If you want to continue your childish whining and bullying towards me then PM me instead. I'm going to remove the off topic posts. If you want to continue get a violin...
     
  17. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    #17
    What an awful thread... you two should settle this out in the parking lot
     
  18. macrumors 68020

    bmac4

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2013
    Location:
    Atlanta Ga
    #18
    I am good. I just get tired of people being rude to posters for putting up questions they have. It seems like every time someone post anything about replacement iPhones or warranty repair people start to become rude, and some how Apple is always right.
     

Share This Page